My Reviews (123)

Tomato, Beef and Vegetable Stew

Everyone needs a good beef stew recipe and this one is mine. I am a fan of rosemary but if you find it too strong you can reduce the quantity.
Reviews (123)


Comment:
08 Oct 2008
CRAZY4SUSHI said:
Something else. This recipe instantly earned 5 stars when my sister apologised to my mother, turned to me, and said, "this is the best beef stew i have ever had!" Of course, i made some considerable changes to suit my taste. I decided that beef stew needs wine, so in the 45 minute time period i added 125ml of marsala, and for the last 15 minutes (after the peas are added) i threw in about 50ml of sherry. I used almost 1 kg of beef, so i added more beef stock and 2 tablespoons of extra tomato puree. The seasonings were also changed: no bay leaf, 1/4 teaspoon of dried rosemary in place of fresh and almost a tsp of paprika. I left out the thyme. I also used tinned mushrooms instead of fresh. Before cooking the meat in the oil, i cooked 2 chopped garlic cloves, then added the beef. I cooked it about 20 minutes longer- maybe more. It really came out delicious, but, as you see, i made a lot of changes, so i will only give it 4 stars (without them it wouldve been too bland).Will definitely make again!
 
Comment:
08 Oct 2008
Altered ingredient amounts. One of the best stew recipes I've tried yet - I added white wine, extra chillies and extra vegetables and we loved it!
 
Comment:
08 Oct 2008
Paula Y. said:
Used different ingredients. Everyone said this was good, even my picky son and his friend. I used a few pinches of dried Rosemary in place of the fresh. I also added salt. Next time will cut back on the rosemary and thyme. Thank you Marianne for a great recipe and thanks to all the helpful reviews.
 
Comment:
08 Oct 2008
Altered ingredient amounts. Overall it was very tasty. Good dish for a cold foggy evening. Did not use the crushed chillies. And next time, we would reduce the rosemary. Suggest maybe using 1/2 rosemary sprig. The stew does get dry when reheating for leftovers. I would use this recipe again.
 
08 Oct 2008
Reviewed by: RookieCook
This is definitly a Rosemary lover's meal ! I used extra beef stock and still all I could taste was the rosemary! I was hoping for a nice beef flavour (considering this is one of the only recipies here for beef stew that calls for beef stock), but it tasted like tomato sauce with loads of rosemary. I think next time , I will omit the tomato puree and use a little cornflour to thicken it. Also, I will only use a 1/4 of the rosemary. But if you like rosemary, this is definitly the recipe for you !
 
30 Jun 2005
Reviewed by: 2Yung2Cook
This recipe instantly earned 5 stars when my sister apologized to my mother, turned to me, and said, "this is the best beef stew i have ever had!" Of course, i made some considerable changes to suit my taste. I decided that beef stew needs wine, so in the 45 minute time period i added half a cup of marsala, and for the last 15 minutes (after the peas are added) i threw in about 1/4 cup of sherry. I used almost 2 pounds of beef, so i added more beef broth (about a cup more) and 2 tablespoons of extra tomato paste. The seasonings were also changed: no bay leaf, 1/4 teaspoon of dried rosemary in place of fresh, 1/2 tsp of adobo,the same amount of red pepper flakes, and almost a tsp of paprika. I left out the thyme.The secret ingredient to kicking up any dish was added: Goya Sazon seasoning. I also used canned mushrooms instead of fresh. Before cooking the meat in the oil, i cooked 2 chopped garlic cloves with extra garlic powder in it, then added the beef. I served it over egg noodles, but cooked it about 20 minutes longer- maybe more. It really came out delicious, but, as you see, i made a lot of changes, so i will only give it 4 stars (without them it wouldve been too bland).Will definitely make again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 May 2001
Reviewed by: FLORIDA_GIRL
This is definitly a Rosemary lover's meal ! I used 2 extra cans of beef broth and still all I could taste was the rosemary! I was hoping for a nice beef flavor (considering this is one of the only recipies here for beef stew that calls for beef broth), but it tasted like tomato sauce with tons of rosemary. I think next time , I will omit the tomato paste and use a little cornstarch to thicken it. Also, I will only use a 1/4 of the rosemary. But if you like rosemary, this is definitly the recipe for you !
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Jul 2001
Reviewed by: OJOS
Overall it was very tasty. Good dish for a cold foggy evening. Did not use the crushed red pepper flakes. And next time, we would reduce the rosemay. Suggest maybe using 1/2 rosemary sprig. The stew does get dry when reheating for leftovers. I would use this recipe again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Dec 2002
Reviewed by: NJSS2000
Everyone said this was good, even my picky son and his friend. I also added some potato flakes to thicken it up a little and used a few pinches of dried Rosemary in place of the fresh. I also added salt. Next time will cut back on the rosemary and thyme. Thank you Marianne for a great recipe and thanks to all the helpful reviews.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Feb 2003
Reviewed by: Lisa Torres
With any meat recipe I try, whether from a book or elsewhere, I always season [the meat] to taste and then follow directions accordingly, so I added a few more seasonings than called for (ex. garlic, sazon, adobe). I also added a tablespoon of sugar after adding the broth as this "kills" the bitterness of the tomatoes. All vegetables I used, including potatoes, were canned. Dish came out perfect and my children liked it as well... which is always a plus. :-)
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes