My Reviews (87)

Basmati Rice with Cumin

Good basmati rice makes all the difference to a homemade curry. This is a simple recipe but the right way to do it.
Reviews (87)


15 Jan 2019
Reviewed by: Bozena Miranda
It’s amazing rice recipe. I would add only a bit of water because I burned my rice twice but the taste is wonderful. Thanks
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 Jul 2018
Reviewed by: Tracey Ferrari Posner
Made by toasting the cumin seeds, added 1 cinnamon stick and a few anise seeds from another reviewer's suggestion then proceeded with the recipe. Next time, I will do the same thing except I will use a whole star anise pod instead of the seeds for a a bit more flavor.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Jan 2018
Reviewed by: Judy Hill Allen
I cut the cumin seed to 1/2 tsp and added 2 cups water. Perfect! Occasionally we add mixed vegetables instead of peas.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Jun 2017
Reviewed by: jaunito
I just used the recipe for the rice because there was no peas in the house
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Oct 2016
Reviewed by: Hotfingers
Worked a treat the only thing I added was a touch of sea salt and ground black pepper. Thanks
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
12 Sep 2016
Reviewed by: Clarigon
This recipe is spot-on. My only change was to omit the cumin and add a heaping teaspoon of sweet curry powder to the water. The curry added a nice boost of both flavor and color. With or without curry (or cumin), this recipe is a keeper!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Jan 2013
Reviewed by: jo1465
so easy but such a difference to the rice. did add salt at start of cooking
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
Comment:
05 Jul 2011
mangoes2020 said:
In order to succeed this recipe you have to use Diamond Pearl Basmati Rice. This is a Pure Indian Basmati rice. If you want more informations go on the website http://www.sonaimpex.net or send a mail at info@sonaimex.com
 
(Review from Allrecipes India)
05 Feb 2009
Reviewed by: Mrs. Jarrett
I really did not care for this recipe at all. I thought it needed more spice, maybe an onion. It was easy to make but it cooked in only 10 min, glad I checked it or it would have burned!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Dec 2008
Reviewed by: Shauna McNabb
very good, simple recipe but more complex than serving plain rice. I sometimes cook rice in chicken stock to add more flavor. Very good. Thank you
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes