My Reviews (87)

Basmati Rice with Cumin

Good basmati rice makes all the difference to a homemade curry. This is a simple recipe but the right way to do it.
Reviews (87)


Comment:
07 Jan 2009
DingoRidge said:
Altered ingredient amounts. I find that before I boil the rice I place it in a hot wok with a table spoon or two of oil and brown it for five or so minutes and then poor water straight on top and boil in wok.
 
Comment:
08 Aug 2009
pk said:
Used different ingredients. Wash the rice as suggested and before you put it in the wok/pot, add a tiny bit of butter or olive oil. Heat and add the cumin into the oil to slightly fry the cumin (not blacken them). Then add the rice and follow as suggested. Also, some chopped onion can be added to the pot for taste.
 
29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: Michelle M
Just like the restaurants serve in Saudi Arabia =-) More authentic than other recipes I've seen.
 
29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: MAGGIE MCGUIRE
Consider dry-frying the cumin seeds in a cast iron frying pan for several minutes before adding to the rice. When you hear them "pop" they are ready. Heat the peas before adding to rice.
 
30 Nov 2016
Reviewed by: crazy7cook
Made this last night and loved it. Will definitely make it again.
 
29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: Brosie
Good solid Basmati Rice recipe.
 
29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: Deb
Needs salt. Followed recipe exactly, thinking the cumin must eliminate need for salt: not! I've given the recipe 5 stars anyway, for ease, looks and the way it WILL taste next time when I cook it with salt added.
 
29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: Rose Moltisanti
Great recipe. Quick and very authentic! Thanks so much!
 
16 Mar 2006
Reviewed by: MUSIC_MINX
Consider dry-frying the cumin seeds in a cast iron frying pan for several minutes before adding to the rice. When you hear them "pop" they are ready. Heat the peas before adding to rice.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Dec 2007
Reviewed by: Leah
I find that it helps to soak the rice in a bowl of water first. Also, when cooking the rice (I usually just use my rice cooker), I like to add a cinnamon stick, 2 cloves, and a couple anise seeds to give it a more traditional flavor and great aroma!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes