My Reviews (41)

Dad's Corned Beef

Dad has always been the master of this recipe which has been handed down from his parents. He makes it every week for a snack. It's beautiful cold and fills the house with that lovely smell of cloves. Once the meat is cold, the slices are just so tender, its awesome. You can make it with a white mustard sauce too if you are having it for dinner.
Reviews (41)


11 Dec 2011
Reviewed by: aussie-debs
This recipe is so much like my mum used to cook, can't believe i found it. Trick is you must cook it slowly for the 4 hours. I also put 4 halved carrots, 3 onions, a couple more bay leaves and i used brown sugar. When i make the sauce I use the onions chopped up and i love the dijon mustard in the sauce. So much nicer than dry mustard. I serve with chats
 
04 Dec 2011
Reviewed by: bookwench
Made this last night for the first time, it was delicious. Picked this recipe because it looked the friendliest. Smelled incredible while cooking and everyone loved it. Changed the recipe a bit - used a bit more vinegar and brown sugar, just because, and that gave the cabbage I cooked in the juice a nice flavor too. Thank you!
 
24 Oct 2011
Reviewed by: Missmeegs
I cooked this one for a group of tradies - out of all things I have cooked for them this is one they ALL raved about. It turned out absolutely perfect, I served it with mash potato and steamed greens. I didn't change anything in the recipe... I'll be cooking it regularly!
 
Comment:
09 Jan 2011
Cool said:
Something else. I add 3 cups of whitw winw vinegar and mixed herbs I tablespoon also 2-3 cloves of garlis whole also carrott about two Cut back on the cloves 3-4 only I felt it to be more balanced
 
12 Mar 2010
Reviewed by: Yulan
I cooked this last night and it was amazing. I was looking for a recipie like my mum did, who was a kiwi. Very similar. I didn't add the cloves as I didn't have any. The beef was the best I've ever had. Thanks for sharing.
 
Comment:
24 Oct 2009
Katch22 said:
Used different ingredients. I used red wine vinegar instead of brown. Added 1 large onion quartered, 1 large carrot & 2 sticks of celery.
 
24 Oct 2009
Reviewed by: Katch22
This is delicious hot or cold. The aroma while cooking is intoxicating. lovely!
 
16 Aug 2009
Reviewed by: shellspa64
Made this last nite and the family loved it. Couldn't get enough. I did add quartered oranges to the water when cooking the meat. Gave a slight orange flavour. Lovely.
 
31 Oct 2010
Reviewed by: di45
why on earth would you dispose of the fat? so soft & melty!
 
Comment:
08 Sep 2012
Have been using this recipe for a long time, but use half a jar of honey instead of the sugar, smells and tastes delicious.
 

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes