My Reviews (75)

Easy Sourdough Bread for the Bread Machine

An absolutely beautiful sourdough bread for the bread machine. You can buy starter or you can make your own from other recipes on this site.
Reviews (75)


14 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: MYKIDZMOM
This recipe is the best one that I have tried. I make a loaf nearly every day now, & we use it for grilled cheese & tomato sandwiches, toasties & for eating plain. Good texture & flavour.
 
14 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: R. D. ORWOLL
I have used the recipe 5 fimes, and it has been great each time. I recently obtained a starter from a friend and wanted to give sourdough a try. After making it once "by hand", I tried this machine recipe. This recipe worked better and was obviously much easier! I find bread flour works very nicely. Every bread machine is different; this recipe works very well for me.
 
14 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: RPEREGRINE
Excellent Texture! High Riser.
 
14 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: TRACILEIGH
I found this recipe a bit too dificult. Perhaps it was just me, but after carefully following the directions, I ended up with a half-cooked extremely strong tasting loaf. I made the bread three different times with the same result.
 
14 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: MARIE20002
This is the best tasting and stays moist to the end and so very easy to make I really eat more bread then I ever used to. It is really so very good. Thank you for the recipe.
 
20 Jun 2002
Reviewed by: R. D. ORWOLL
I have used the recipe 5 fimes, and it has been great each time. I recently obtained a starter from a friend and wanted to give sourdough a try. After making it once "by hand", I tried this machine recipe. This recipe worked better and was obviously much easier! I find bread flour works very nicely. Every bread machine is different; this recipe works very well for me.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Nov 2008
Reviewed by: TUNISIANSWIFE
I don't have a bread machine so adapted this to the conventional oven. first rise until doubled, second rise for about 45 min. baked in 400degree oven for 20-25 minutes. I've used this recipe twice now and love the flavor and texture of the bread; used a raw potato starter. thanks so much for this recipe
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Feb 2007
Reviewed by: GRANNYLOOHOO
Excellent recipe. I made it manually and since my starter is not very liquid, I had to add water. This was a very nice dough that was easy to work with. I agree with reviewer DSRTBLND43 that the sourness of your starter has a lot to do with the sourness of the bread. My fairly new starter has still not achieved the tang I want, but this recipe is the recipe I will keep using for my sourdough bread. Nice crust, good chewiness, moist inside, and very good flavor. Thank you Kathy!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Jun 2007
It would have been really good for persons who do not have a bread machine to know the order in which the ingredients are to be infused and the process by which the bread can be made by hand.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Oct 2007
Reviewed by: Bluidshay
So I missed the 90s Bread Revolution and just bought my first one. This was my first non-box recipe and I just happen to have a 3 year old sourdough colony in my fridge. The bread was AWESOME!!! The one comment I have is that I needed to add more water, probably closer to 1/2 a cup. You can always check on the dough during the first knead cycle and add more if necessary, which is what I did, to make it look like dough. If it's crumbly it needs water!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes