My Reviews (96)

Basic Stew Dumplings

Dumplings are a fantastic addition to soups and stews for a little more heartiness. You can add any fresh herbs you like.
Reviews (96)


Comment:
18 Jul 2008
ALASKA GIRL said:
Used different ingredients. fANTASTIC!Used equal parts butter and olive oil. They were the best dumplings ever!
 
18 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: Jodi Hargis
Excellent dumplings! When I pinched off the dough I rolled the dough into balls then dropped them in! These were fabulous in my beef stew and so incredibly easy to make! Thank you so much for the recipe I will definately use it over and over again!
 
Comment:
18 Jul 2008
ECHO1272 said:
Altered ingredient amounts. Loved these!! The recipe is great, although I found that I needed more water in order to get the dough to 'hold' together. I also added some pepper and my family loved them.
 
09 Jul 2012
Reviewed by: forlife
been a long time I had dumplings my dad made it when I was a kid I make it for my beef slow cooker
 
18 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: jason
This is how dumplings are supposed to be made
 
18 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: BETHYB_1
Good basic dumpling recipe. But I had a lot of problems getting the dumplings thin enough which made them a little tough. But, still a good recipe.
 
17 Apr 2008
Reviewed by: christina b
Absolutely perfect, we LOVED these in my homemade chicken noodle soup with dumplings...not slimy like when using premade canned biscuits and not fluffy like when using Bisquick dumplings. These taste exactly like the dumplings you get in any restaurant, thick and a little chewy and just heavenly. I used cold butter as I didn't have any shortening and added garlic salt and onion powder to the flour, and I did have to use about 3/4 cup water instead of 1/4 cup. Just a note to all the nay-sayers out there, these DO NOT rise like those Bisquick-type dumplings, that's not the kind of dumplings these are. These are completely submerged in whatever sauce you cook them in and are more like giant doughy noodles, they are not ball-shaped and don't sit on top of your sauce and get fluffy and airy on the outside. Please note this before trying the recipe so you won't have different expectations. 1/17/12 - UPDATE: I recently won 1st place in a cook-off a local restaurant using this recipe in my Chicken & Dumplings entry. I never use shortening, using instead only real, unsalted butter and add a little salt, pepper, garlic powder, and onion powder to the mix before adding about a cup or so of water :-)
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Dec 2005
Reviewed by: Michelle Wille
fANTASTIC! I only had butter and olive oil to use instead of the shortening. Used equal parts along with garlic salt. They were the best dumplings ever!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 Nov 2006
Reviewed by: ECHO1272
Loved these!! I've always made the fluffy, Bisquick type of dumplings but always wanted to try a more "spaetzle" type. The recipe is great, although I found that I needed more like a half cup of water instead of 1/4 cup in order to get the dough to 'hold' together. I also added a little garlic powder and some pepper and my family totally loved them.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
Comment:
18 Jul 2008
ALASKA GIRL said:
Used different ingredients. fANTASTIC!Used equal parts butter and olive oil. They were the best dumplings ever!
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes