My Reviews (90)

Greek Pasta Salad with Steak

A pasta salad with seared steak pieces and sun dried tomato pesto. One quick, unique and healthy meal that will liven up your taste buds.
Reviews (90)


17 Mar 2011
Reviewed by: Cheryl72
Loved it. Added some cherry tomatoes and the dish was delicious. Will definitely have this meal regularly.
 
08 Apr 2008
Reviewed by: Jennifer Baker
This was delicious! My local grocery stores carry sun-dried tomato pesto in the deli and in the pasta sauce aisle (Classico makes a good one) so check both places in case you have trouble locating it. My husband loved this, I loved this, and the friends I made it for also loved it--you really can't go wrong! Next time, I'll use chicken instead of steak, but this is a recipe I'll make many more times in the future. Thanks!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Oct 2006
Reviewed by: julie
Wow, where did this come from?!? Sun-dried tomato pesto? Strangely, I could only find it at Target. What a surprise! The mix of ingredients was heavenly! FLAT IRON STEAK WAS PERFECT...LESS PREP TOO. I DID CUT BACK THE OIL A BIT. Gimme more from this chef! THIS PICTURE DOES NOT REALLY LOOK LIKE THE DISH....AND THE SPINACH IS NOT PART OF A "SAUCE" it's part of the dish. i used the whole grain penne and LOVED it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Mar 2008
Reviewed by: ktacserv
I could not find sun-dried tomato pesto at the store so I made my own with a combination of minced sun-dried tomatoes and pesto paste. Not as good as the real thing I am sure but still very tasty! Made a few changes: Used NY Strip steaks instead of rib-eye (delicious!), sauteed the spinach in garlic and olive oil before adding to pasta. Omitted olives, added chopped onion and portabella mushroom to the steak instead of shallots. Used fresh grated parmesan cheese instead of feta. Definitely more of an italian taste than greek, but was very delicious! Much lighter than I had expected. I will make this again and keep experimenting.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Oct 2006
Reviewed by: GRANNYLOOHOO
This was amazing--I was nervous about using sun-dried tomato pesto (we've never tried it) but it gave such a rich depth to the steak. When my husband came in he said it smelled like a restaurant. It was fun to make and unbelievably good with simple ingredients. I left out the olives and used asiago, romano & parmesan cheese instead of the feta, but I want to try it with feta. I had a bagged salad I needed to use, so I served the pasta/steak mixture on a bed of greens and it was so good, even down to the crunch of the sunflower seeds. Fantastic recipe Jennifer!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Sep 2006
Reviewed by: jlm81801
I was amazed! Not only is it quick and easy but it made my mouth water. I work late but can still come home and make a great meal that everyone enjoys!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Jun 2008
Reviewed by: AREENA
I couldn't find the pesto, so I used julienned sundried tomatoes and just chopped them up finely. I also added more feta and seasoned the steak with salt, pepper, and Greek Seasoning (Penzeys.com). Wasn't in the mood for pasta, so tossed the meat into spinach leaves, chopped fresh tomato, cucumber, and pepperoncinis for a great warm salad (added a little red wine vinegar). Next time I'll use kalamata olives for more flavor. Will be making this again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Sep 2006
Reviewed by: Amy G.
What a quick, wonderful dish! Whoa! The sun-dried tomato pesto sauce really did it. I look forward to seeing more recipe postings from this user.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Jun 2007
Reviewed by: JenInCalifornia
This was very good. The steak was a great addition, very different! Thanks!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: MaryTee
This is so good. I have made this twice already and love it! I leave out the black olives, but that is personal preference. Also, the only sun-dried tomato pesto I could find (after searching 3 supermarkets) is made by Classico. The jar is small, about half the size of typical spaghetti sauces, and will probably be on the top shelf. The pesto is amazing, making the dish to die for! Highly recommended...
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes