My Reviews (12)

Orange and Almond Cake with Orange Syrup

A very moist and fruity cake that uses the whole orange for its amazing flavour. Cooking the oranges twice makes the skin less bitter.
Reviews (12)


23 Feb 2013
Reviewed by: kbcfan
Hi There! It's my 1st try and I am excited. I boiled the oranges for one hour, drained and reboiled them for 45 minutes. When I pureed them in blender, the puree is extremely bitter. So, I was wondering whether or not to proceed with the rest of the recipe? Is it normal for puree to be bitter and it will vanish with sugar, eggs, almond and baking? Or, if your puree is tasting nice and sweet, then only you should proceed with the rest of the procedure. Pls reply quickly.... Thanks,
 
02 Aug 2011
Reviewed by: JacksBack
I've made this a few times, cake and muffins. The muffins are the most popular as they slip easily into lunch boxes, the kid's and the husband's lunch boxes! I don't know if they freeze well, and probably never will, as they don't last long enough to need freezing!
 
27 Jun 2012
Reviewed by: Vonn24
Absolutely loved this recipe. My partner loved it too. Thank you so much for sharing this wonderful recipe. This was the very first cake I have ever made from scratch (I normally use a cake packet mix), so I was very proud of the way it turned out. I will continue to find receipes that don't come out of a packet. Thanks so much!!!
 
04 Jun 2011
Reviewed by: Rell1975
This a great - not too sweet. I've made it several times now. It also works well in muffin tins as individual serves, just reduce the cooking time.
 
15 Nov 2012
Reviewed by: elizabeth67
This cake is super and easy and can also be made into individual cakes for a more formal dinner party... I am serving it with greek yogurt to offset the sweet syrup. Delicious before now, and tomorrow bound to be a winner again.
 
21 Dec 2010
Reviewed by: SallyAnne
This is a favourite. I've made it few times and it's always a success and enjoyed by those I serve it to. I served it with slices of mango and double cream last time Mmmmm
 
03 Aug 2009
Reviewed by: tarunar
I made this one last week, turned out really nice... especially enjoyed making the syrup... thanks for the recipe.
 
26 Jan 2013
Reviewed by: VictoriaHenlik
this recipe is abit confusing with making of the syrup,as to whether i should heat the rind for 5 minutes with water or with the orange juice? Is it normal to have the middle part to sink in? I've followed this recipe to a tee, so i need to know if this is normal. The cake tastes awesome though
 
28 Jun 2011
Reviewed by: lvz2002
Love the flavour and texture of this cake
 
04 May 2017
Reviewed by: PennyOdell
This is such a scrummy cake and so moist. It is especially nice with a dolop of Creme Fraiche
 

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes