My Reviews (41)

Burmese Chicken Curry

A mildly spiced curry from Burma with a beautiful fish infused sauce! This meal is excellent served with rice and Indian breads such as chapatti, roti or naan.
Reviews (41)


20 Feb 2010
Reviewed by: BRENTMCOLLINS
I've made a lot of recipes from this site in the past and this is the first that I felt warranted an actual review. Fantastic. My dinner guests were all raving about it. I served it over jasmine rice and with a side of cucumber/yogurt/dill salad. Thank you for this recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Oct 2011
Reviewed by: Sara Rajan
I don't know why I listen to recipes when they insist on adding one full cup of water. If you make this, start with just half a cup first, or else it's too watery. I also added 5 fresh green chiles for a spicy kick.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Oct 2011
Reviewed by: jae
Excellent! I didn't have lemon grass so I substituted lemon peel. I also didn't use as much chicken. Added quite a large amount of fresh green beans instead. Only other change I made was adding less salt. Next time I think I'll try to skip the step of grinding everything up in the blender to save on clean up. I'll just chop everything fine and see how it goes. It was very good as is, and I think it will also be very good making changes each time I cook it - add more curry powder one time - maybe add thai basil one time.... Thanks!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Jan 2011
Reviewed by: Kim
Great Curry!! Easy and quick! We used a well drained can of diced tomatoes instead of fresh tomatoes. My husband gives this an eight out of ten. We would recommend this highly, we'll make it for friends soon.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Nov 2009
Reviewed by: kimdoeshair
I have been dreaming about this dish since we had it over one week ago. Very easy to make and, even easier to eat. Next time I will make double, for leftovers!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Feb 2012
Reviewed by: max
I've made this twice this week. I used just over a lb of chicken (instead of 2.25 lbs) and I put the chicken thighs in as is (not cut into chunks). I only had grape tomatoes, so I used those. I also added cauliflower towards the end of cooking and let it simmer, covered for about 15 minutes. This is a great recipe. The chicken was so tender and fell apart so easily!! Thank you!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Dec 2010
Reviewed by: nmchilecat
This was rather involved to make, but the result was well worth it! With all the spiices, I thought it would be over-whelming, but it was the perfect blend--not one spice dominated the others, and they came together to make a fragrant, spicy curry with just the right amount of heat. I had never used fish sauce before, so that was kind of scary; but the finished produce did not taste "fishy" at all. Hubby didn't love it, but he didn't hate it, either. He said it was different. Note: he was basically making it with my help, and he was okay until we added the fish sauce! LOL! I served it with basmati rice and peas. I will probably make it again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Sep 2009
Reviewed by: baungkhin
I'm Burmese & am very impressed to find this recipe! Pretty simple to make too.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Jan 2011
Reviewed by: Trudy
Killer!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Feb 2012
Reviewed by: jdaize
This was an easy but flavourful dish. The family loved it and I will make again. I took other reviewers advice and added 1/2 cup of water and a tin of drained tomatoes. Next time I will add less water. I also substituted lemon peel for lemon grass - not the same flavour at all but the lemon peel citrus note was a plus. Will use lemon grass next time but I didn't have any on hand last night. I also added chopped capsicum, zuchini, shallots and bok choy as I always bulk up the veg content of all recipes.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes