My Reviews (8)

Chow Mein Stew

This is a real crowd pleaser, quick, easy and economical to make. Great for a weeknight winter's dinner. Recipe can be substituted with chicken or pork mince instead of beef.
Reviews (8)


21 Mar 2012
Reviewed by: Judy
We love this easy recipe. To bulk up vegetable intake add potato, etc. Also add in a splash of soya sauce.
 
05 Feb 2013
Reviewed by: MereMale
Made this a few times and altered a little to MY taste. 2 tablespoons of curry was too strong for me. 2 teaspoons was enough. Added 2 dices carrots for a bit of colour.A crushed clove of garlic,why not? Used angel hair pasta instead of the rice.Nice easy recipe Thanks..
 
10 Jul 2012
Reviewed by: Gaz
Easy no fuss great tasting meal.
 
15 May 2016
Reviewed by: baten52
People probably don't know but Chow Mein comes from the Victorian Gold fields. Where Chinese entrepreneurs, limited by their activity on the goldfields, sold their uneaten food mixed up, to the diggers. The restrictions on Chinese diggers forced them into other ways of making a quid ..... and so, Chow Mein!
 
25 Jul 2017
Reviewed by: DebbieHoffman
I make this on a regular basis. I also added Chinese broccoli and omitted the chicken noodle soup for chicken stock. Added in a couple of tablespoons of kecap manis and about 1/3 to 1/2 cup of brown Dongari rice plus added a teaspoon of turmeric as well as another spoon of curry powder
 
13 May 2017
Reviewed by: Alyson_B
Nice easy recipe. I used frozen winter vegtables instead of the green beans to up the veg content and chicken stock with angel hair pasta in place of chicken noodle soup mix. I also included the sky sauce in the cooking instead of afterwards.
 
31 Jan 2017
Reviewed by: WendyAFG
Too much curry powder for me. Will halve it next time and I suspect it may still be a fraction too much for me. But yummy none the less. And simple. That's important!
 
26 Sep 2015
Reviewed by: chris.noy
Wow tasty, fast to make, leftovers makes an excellent meal 8 toast, thankyou
 

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes