My Reviews (110)

Ye Ole Gingerbread Loaf

A deliciously moist, never-fail gingerbread loaf. I bake this loaf before bed and leave it in the cooling oven overnight. No hard crusts!
Reviews (110)


06 Sep 2010
Reviewed by: aido
I love gingerbread, especially when my mum makes it, so I decided to give this recipe a try. It's not the same as my mums, so at first I wasn't impressed, but the more I ate it the more I liked it. I love it with butter. Yum. Loses marks for not being the same as my mums though.
 
06 Jun 2010
Reviewed by: Ceri
this is great, love it warm with butter
 
25 May 2016
Reviewed by: krazee
Was too dry on the outside, and crumbled. Nice flavour and very sweet, almost suitable for a pudding.
 
12 Apr 2011
Reviewed by: Amanda76
A lovely flavour develops after a couple of days, but mine has a bi-carby taste
 
07 Oct 2009
Reviewed by: heathbal
Very easy and quick to prepare. Tastes great, but might add a bit more sugar next time. I also sliced and put it in the freezer, so I don't eat it all at once!
 
13 Feb 2007
Reviewed by: JODIWOOD
Thank you for a delicious and moist recipe that made my house smell wonderful while it was baking. For those of you asking questions about golden syrup: Golden syrup, like molasses, is a product of the process of refining sugar. It is simply sugar cane juice that has been boiled down. It has the consistency of corn syrup, but a golden color and a taste different from either light or dark corn syrup, and also substantially different from its cousin, molasses. This recipe is unlikely to taste as good without the use of honest-to-goodness golden syrup, but if you must, you can try substituting it with 2 parts light corn syrup and 1 part molasses or equal parts of honey and light corn syrup. You can purchase Lyles Golden Syrup on Amazon.com if you can't find it in local stores. Hope this helps.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Mar 2013
Reviewed by: applebysbookshop
help pls -made this buy top gets hard so have to take out of oven which means inside is VERY heavy-even uncooked properly.
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
04 Jan 2011
Reviewed by: LiLi
In order to help when looking for the ingredients, golden syrup is the English reference to molasses.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Oct 2006
Reviewed by: rkcsilva
Very moist loaf. Really good recipe. I used a lemon sauce for the cut slices. I used corn syrup for the golden syrup because I wasn't sure what golden syrup is either. I also added 1/2 tsp of pumpkin spice and 3 tsp of cinnamon sugar mixture.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Sep 2011
Reviewed by: maidenbaker
oh crikey, this was awesome! Loved it. Yum I used half butter half 'clover' and cinnamon instead of allspice as I had no allspice. Felt really guilty using so much syrup but what the hey! However when I mixed ingredients it all went very lumpy! Never mind, I just pushed it the mixture through a seive and it came out lovely and smooth. I cooked for an extra 10 mins and although it didn't smell when I baked the cake it did when I cut it. It was moist - very moist - and sticky and gorgeous. Hubby had a thick slice with butter then I iced it with a thick layer of icing sugar - just like I had at school. Oh boy.
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes