My Reviews (67)

Prawns Wrapped in Bacon

It sounds simple, but wait for the taste! Barbecuing or grilling these prawns that are wrapped in bacon will be a favourite. Ensure you make enough to go around!
Reviews (67)


27 Aug 2003
Reviewed by: MISS M
My dad showed me how to make this recipe. It is really good you should try dipping the shrimp in melted butter mixed with garlic powder before wrapping in bacon.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 May 2000
Reviewed by: GARETH
Try cooking the bacon a little before wrapping around the shrimp. This way you can be sure the bacon is fully cooked when the shrimp are done.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 Aug 2005
Reviewed by: JDOWNING
YUMMY!! I precooked the bacon in the microwave. I cut the strips in half and wrapped them around the shrimp, securing the bacon with a toothpick. Cooking them was a bit tricky. I had the shrimp in a throw away foil pan on the grill with loads of butter and garlic powder. I let the shrimp cook a bit in the pan then put them on the grill for a few minutes. I had to be careful that the shrimp was cooked through under the bacon, but didn't want them to over cook. It is a dish you need time to focus on.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Jan 2004
Reviewed by: Wilemon
It is imperative that you partially cook the bacon before wrapping the shrimp to cook. The bacon will not be done. If you cook the bacon until done, the shrimp are WAY over cooked. I sprinkled my favorite seasonings over the shrimp before I wrapped and grilled them then served them with melted butter. I gave this only 3 stars because the recipe as written, as I stated, over cooks the shrimp. I used jumbo shrimp and they were large enough for a whole strip of partially cooked bacon. When the shrimp were done, the bacon was grilled to perfection.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Jan 2004
Reviewed by: DManfredi
Absolutely awesome appetizer! I served these for New Years' Eve, and everyone loved them! I chose to cook them under the broiler in my oven instead of grilling. To prevent burning the bacon or drying out the shrimps, I placed them as far below the broiler as the oven would allow. This allowed the bacon to cook thoroughly...I turned them a couple of times, too. Wonderful! I can't wait to make them again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Apr 2005
Reviewed by: Melissa Pietrosanti
I did not read the reviews before trying this out. In hindsight, yes, I think if the bacon was precooked a bit, it might be nice (I hate rubbery bacon, ew) But, I did cook it according to the directions, and if you use a thin-sliced bacon, on a hot grill, it did turn out wonderful and they were all gobbled up at my barbeque. ALSO- I did not use full slices of bacon, I cut them in half! But make sure they fit around the size of shrimp you use before cutting them all, you don't want to cut them too short and waste with the bacon not fitting! Very popular and I will definitely make again! I also tossed the shrimp with some terriaki sauce and marinaded 1/2 hour beforehand.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Feb 2003
Reviewed by: DEBK68
I thought that the bacon overpowered the shrimp. we used larger shrimp, and the bacon was not done when the shrimp were.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 May 2003
Reviewed by: Brant Owens
It's important that you partially pre-cook the bacon before grilling. Very tasty and easy to make, but next time I think I'll marinate the shrimp in a lemon/tequila mixture first for a little added flavor.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
31 Aug 2005
Reviewed by: Mark H
Great idea, but the bacon needs to be slow cooked until edible (but flexible) before wrapping the shrimp or else the shrimp will overcook.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Oct 2000
Reviewed by: MATTWINGENDER20
I MADE THIS RECIPE ONCE FOR A CLASS PROJECT AND I REALLY LIKE IT I'LL MAKE IT AGAIN WHEN I CATER ANOTHER PARTY.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes