My Reviews (14)

Easy Almond Anzac Biscuits

If you are looking for a slight spin on your ANZAC biscuits try this version that has a half cup of almonds in it for some additional texture and flavour.
Reviews (14)


25 Apr 2012
Reviewed by: Gladyskigozi
the smell was amazing. But I think the recommended baking time should be reduced to 10 min. The first bunch dried out a bit too much
 
27 Sep 2003
Reviewed by: ERIC R
I really liked this recipe, but I think the baking time was too long. I think it should be more like 12-15 minutes. I made a few changes to the recipe-- The batter seemed a little too moist and gooey, so I added a little extra flour. Also, I substituted light corn syrup for the golden syrup (I didn't have golden syrup-- in fact, I've never heard of it). And lastly, I added a tsp of almond flavoring. I'll add this recipe to my collection!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Dec 2003
Reviewed by: C. Cross
I'm Australian and from what I understand golden syrup is similar to molasses. The point is to get that golden colour so I think molasses or even the dark glucose syrup would be closer to the original..
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Oct 2006
Reviewed by: Lena
In all my years of cooking ANZAC's I never thought of including almonds in the recipe but they really do work well. The only changes I made where to add a little more liquid to the batter, use hand chopped almonds and to reduce the cooking time to 12-15 mins. They tasted nice and very anzac'y although next time I would include some dessicated coconut as to me they did not taste quite complete without it. Thankyou Allison, this recipe is definately worth trying.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Sep 2007
Reviewed by: S. Leigh
I tampered with this recipe a great deal (mainly due to poor math skills and an excess of unwanted food provisions), but the finished product was wonderful! Instead of rolled oats, I used ground bran flakes, which, in combination with the syrup, made this delightfully gooey center surrounded by a crispy, butter crust. As for the "golden syrup" I decided to mix 1/2 honey and 1/2 maple syrup. Of course, in doing so, I accidently doubled the amount of the "golden syrup" in the recipe. =/ I subsituted Splenda for the sugar, and other than that, it was the same. Haha. =) The cookie/biscuits were so good they were gone nearly as soon as my family discovered the pan!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Jun 2006
Reviewed by: Mrs. Wallace
Somehow, I managed to mess up the recipe and the cookies molded into one giant cookie in the oven and it looked really gross. However, I brought the mass cookie to a college class for a presentation to prove that I tried, and everyone LOVED the flavor. The cookie was not attractive, but DELICIOUS none the less and a hit! The dough itself is wonderful before it's baked. Just make sure you follow the directions exactly and hopefully you'll have better luck.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Mar 2005
Reviewed by: FRAMBUESA
These were a really nice change from the usual cookies. They had this great flavor that was really refreshing coming from a cookie. I didn't have any golden syrup at the time so I substituted molasses and I used ground almonds instead of sliced and it gave it a really nice nutty flavor. One of my friends just asked me the other day to 'Make those weird Australian cookies again' so I think I will
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Jun 2003
Reviewed by: DEBORAH-O
I always like the accent, now I have a new fondness for the Australians...... LOVE THESE 'BISCUITS'!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Jul 2003
Reviewed by: SARAH RICHARDS
Really easy and really yummy. Much nicer than flapjacks, and, I can kid myself that I'm eating healthily because they've got oats in them!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Aug 2010
Reviewed by: AMIEECH
Sorry, but I didn't think these were that good. I have never had these kind of 'biscuits' before so maybe that is why? I was looking for a cookie recipe that called for melted butter because I didn't want to wait for my butter to soften and I don't have a microwave. They didn't have much flavor despite the almonds and tasted really sweet and bland. Maybe they could use a pinch of salt to bring out the flavor and some almond extract? Anyway, I probably won't try them again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes