My Reviews (329)

Baked Bacon and Mushroom Chicken Breasts

Baked chicken breast fillets with mushrooms and bacon in a pour over creamy sauce. The cooking time is long but the preparation is simple.
Reviews (329)


06 Mar 2013
Reviewed by: SueJacobson
This dish was so easy to make. It tasted great too.
 
22 Oct 2002
Reviewed by: DABTGB
This was a very good recipe but I made some changes. First I cooked the chicken in a smaller dish, cooked the thick cut bacon for three minutes in microwave before topping the chix and finally broiled the chix and bacon for 2 minutes at end. It was a beautiful golden brown. Nobody likes limp bacon. You must add flour to the drippings or it will be extremely greasy. Add as much flour as needed to soak up grease and don't take out the mushrooms. Add more heavy cream to make sauce. You want extra of this sauce!! This makes a wonderful sauce and I am an expert gravy maker.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 May 2003
Reviewed by: ATOMICLUSH
Oh goodness, this recipe is great! Very little prep work for such a great entree! I cut off the bone in the breast before cooking because I don't like having to do it while I'm eating. (I still left the skin on too keep the chicken moist.) Also, I'm actually a little health concious (trying to cut the fat where I can without sacrificing taste). I used PAM spray instead of the 2 tablespoons of butter. It didn't effect the taste at all. I used a teaspoon of seasoning salt and 1 clove of garlic for EACH chicken breast to give it more flavor. I cooked for about 30 minutes in the oven instead of the 45-60 as recommended. Then I brushed off the mushrooms off the chicken to the sides of the dish and placed under a broiler for 5 more minutes (to crisp the skin and bacon). I also added a little bit of cornstarch/water slurry to the sauce after I added the cream to help the thicken the sauce. But it came out wonderfully after a little bit of tweaking. Definitely a keeper!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Jan 2003
Reviewed by: HALFFINGR
I used skinless boneless breasts and the family really enjoyed this dish. The sauce at the end is a must, do not skip that part of the recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Jan 2002
Reviewed by: KIMAR
Easy and delicious. Sauce was too runny, next time I'll thicken it with a bit of cornstarch.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Sep 2002
Reviewed by: SCOTT BEVERLY
Because I had previously tried a butter chicken recipe and found it to be bland, I marinated this chicken with a lemon pepper marinate about 2 hours prior to cooking. I used Mrs. Dash with Garlic as the seasoning and rubbed black pepper on the bacon. I used a full 4 oz. can of sliced mushrooms and sprinkled the entire dish with a little mozarella cheese about 10 minutes before removing from the oven. This was the best dish I've tried thus far and it's going in my recipe book!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Jan 2003
Reviewed by: Antalya
Absolutely excellent! We served it with pasta, which is great with the sauce. More changes I made -- I pre-cooked the bacon to get it crispy, doubled the mushrooms, and used 3/4 or 1 cup of cream to make more sauce. Also, I included the mushrooms in the sauce while cooking and crumbled the bacon into the sauce once it was thick. You most definitely want to make enough sauce to go around -- it's wonderful!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Jan 2003
Reviewed by: BaysChick
This was very quick to prepare and easy to make. Best of all you can make it with things you already have on hand. I did use 1/3 cup half and half, 1/3 cup whole milk and 1-1/2 tablespoon flour to replace the cream. I also put the mushrooms and bacon in with the drippings to make the sauce. I was in a hurry to get the chicken done so I upped the temp to 375 and placed foil over the top of the pan after baking the chicken for 20 minutes.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Mar 2006
Reviewed by: SNEJDL
I used boneless, skinless chicken and worried it wouldn't taste as good- boy was I wrong! This recipe is delicious!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Oct 2002
Reviewed by: H2OSMILES
Ugh! It was very bland! With everyone's stellar review, I was expecting more! This just turned out to be a fatty greasy mess!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes