My Reviews (89)

Banana Blueberry Muffins

Nothing like a blueberry muffin! These delicious treats have mashed banana for added sweetness and are chock full of wheat bran and wholemeal flour.
Reviews (89)


21 Aug 2009
Reviewed by: Linda
Crispy yet moist texture...my toddler son loved them! The banana flavour was not strong enough so I may need to add an extra one next time. Used frozen blueberries and made them cupcake size for little hands to hold.
 
05 Jul 2009
Reviewed by: xenamax
Have saved this as a favourite. We made these this morning as our first School Holiday project. Great fun to make and are soooo yummy! We didn't have any blueberries so used canned drained boysenberries - the muffins went a bit purple but still tasted great!!
 
04 Apr 2007
Reviewed by: kate
I don't normally review recipes that I make even if they're really good, but this one I had to. I traded in oil for 3/4 cup unsweetened applesauce, the brown sugar for Splenda for Baking, and added a banana because the ones I had were pretty small. Usually when I do this, my muffins come out hard and not as moist as the real recipes, but this one came out just AWESOME! I also added 3/4 tsp salt, 1 tblsp cinnamon and a small dash of cloves for more flavour. I will definitely be making this one of my staple recipes. Never have I made a muffin that tasted so delicious (and I make some at least once a week) and had only healthy ingredients. I'm so glad you decided to share your recipe! Thank you!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Aug 2005
Reviewed by: JuiceMom
I made a few minor changes to make it even more healthy. I used applesauce instead of oil, and used extra blueberries but omitted the nuts. I also used two VERY ripe banana's and egg beaters. I did not have any brown sugar so I used 3 Tbsp vanilla sugar instead. The result was wonderfully moist but could have used a bit more sugar. Next time I'll make sure I have brown sugar!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Sep 2004
Reviewed by: RAZZMATAZZ
I just discovered recently that I love bran. So as soon as I found this recipe, I knew that I had to be the first to try it. I left out the walnuts (my husband hates them) and can't get buttermilk here so I used 2% instead. I had no problem following the instructions except for the fact that the recipe doesn't state exactly when to add the egg, sugar, oil and vanilla mixture to the rest. Anyway, the muffins turned out well and the only reason I'm giving the recipe four stars instead of five is because I think that the texture and taste of the bran would have been better if I had let it soak in the milk for ten minutes, as other bran muffin recipes recommend. Also, I think I might add a little bit of salt next time. One thing I really like about this recipe, though, is the banana flavour, which really goes well with the bran.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Nov 2006
Reviewed by: Tori Howell
I just pulled these out of the oven and have already eaten two of them. They are sooo good. I used applesauce instead of oil (drain the extra moisture first so it doesn't make your muffins too wet). I also added a 1/2 tsp. salt and extra blueberries. I only had wheat bran so I used that in place of the oat bran. I don't eat a lot of sugar so I thought these were a little too sweet. Next time I might just use 1/2 c. Also, don't be afraid to really fill the muffin cups because these don't rise much. I actually made 18 muffins but they were rather small because I didn't fill them very full. Thanks for such a delicious and healthy recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Aug 2006
This is a "keeper"! Delicious AND healthy. It does make enough batter to REALLY fill 12 muffins cups, though - I actually got 15 muffins out of it because I was afraid of them overflowing.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Aug 2006
Reviewed by: GISBO
Love these muffins! I reduced the canola oil to 1/4 c. and added another mashed banana as well as 1 tsp. cinammon. They were a hit even with the kids!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Oct 2006
Reviewed by: tanyafehr
What an awesome HEALTHY muffin! I didn't have any blueberries or buttermilk, and so I made sour milk and added an extra banana instead and they came out sweet and moist and my kids and husband loved them. This is the best high fibre muffin recipe I have ever tried. Oh yeah, I also sprinked a few chocolate chips on the muffin tops before baking them. That made them a real bonus with the kids and hubby!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Aug 2006
Reviewed by: CANDYLAND7
These were surprisingly good! When I saw the texture as they were coming out of the oven, I thought they were going to be bland and dry, but they were so moist and delicious! Even my picky husband liked them. I actually made 3 mini loaves instead of muffins and baked them for 25 min. I also substitued white flour for wheat and wheat germ for oat bran, becasue I didn't have either ingredients.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes