My Reviews (781)

Mango and Avocado Salsa

Looking for a refreshing, sweet and spicy salsa for a warm summer evening? This is our favourite. Serve with corn chips. This is also fantastic served on grilled fish.
Reviews (781)


21 Dec 2011
Reviewed by: steffysteff
 
01 Jun 2006
Reviewed by: TUNISIANSWIFE
oh my! This has got to be one of the best recipes I have ever tried on here. To begin with, the vibrant colors of red, purple, fleshy orange, and green makes one want to dive right in. The only changes I made were to double the red onion to half cup, and only used 2 tbsp. of EVOO, and added 2 seeded jalepenos. The blend of flavors was magnificant. To bite into that creaminess of the avocado, the bite of the pepper, the sweetness of the mango, and of course garlic and cilantro was to die for. You will want to double this if you take it to a party because I made it just for my husband and myself to go with "Sizzling Chicken Fajitas" from this site, and I probably ate half of it on chips before the dinner was prepared. I did use 4 roma tomatoes as stated in the recipe and it was perfect. Just squeeze out the tomatoes before putting in so that it won't be soupy. This would be a great salad by itself if cut into bigger pieces instead of dicing for salsa. If one is not a big garlic lover, I would cut down on the garlic. I am a garlicholic and so for me, it sent me to heaven! This takes salsa to a new level...absolutely a cut above the rest.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Jan 2006
Reviewed by: ProLifeGoddess
This salsa will have you eating it with a spoon! It is soooo good. It is best to make it the day you are going to use it because the avocado can get a little squishy after a day or two. I would recommend making a triple recipe...I do and I still run out!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Feb 2006
Reviewed by: ADASTRA1
I added a can of black beans and about 1/2 cup of frozen corn.....everyone loved this!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Jul 2010
Reviewed by: naples34102
I just had a party in my mouth! I made this on a whim, basically to use up odds and ends in the fridge that oddly enough were what was called for in this recipe. I've never had this kind of salsa before so didn't know what to expect. Man is this good! Slightly sweet, slightly savory, slightly spicy with an explosion of flavor from the garlic, jalapeno and cilantro - and the creamy, mellow avocado brings it all together and balances it out. After "sampling" a good portion of it, Hubs remarked that he didn't think he was going to like this but found it "strangely addictive." I backed off on the cilantro by maybe half and that worked out well for us. Other than that I followed the recipe and liked it just fine. This is so colorful and festive it just beckons you to come and try it. It tastes so good it makes you go back for more.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Sep 2005
Reviewed by: Daniel den Hoed
This was a very good salsa recipe. We followed the recipe and it was a great way to use up some of the tomato crop from the garden. Next time I would make sure to squeeze out more seeds from the tomatoes because a lot of liquid piled in the bottom of my salsa bowl. Both my husband and I enjoyed it!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Jan 2006
Reviewed by: Kaylie
Great recipe! You might want to consider adding extra mango.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Sep 2005
Reviewed by: Sara
This salsa is awesome! I have brought it to two parties and it has been a huge hit at both. I doubled the recipe both times and it still went really fast...I highly recommend trying it out, you won't be dissapointed! I also left out the jalapeno because I didn't have any, but I didn't miss it at all.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Nov 2005
Reviewed by: Marcia50
New addition for our Thanksgiving dinner! Fresh, light, and absolutely fabulous. I will be looking for your recipes. Thank you fhiveshot
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
31 Oct 2005
Reviewed by: Tatyana
delicious! Everyone loved it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes