My Reviews (44)

Basic Japanese Dipping Sauce

An all-round dipping sauce perfect for dumplings and wontons but also good with steamed fish or tofu.
Reviews (44)


Comment:
29 Sep 2008
Mrs. Newman said:
Used different ingredients. This is great and easy! I lightly drizzle seasame oil on potstickers or dumplings with this and it is a perfect little topper to a great dish! I also add finely chopped chives or green onions to it. Thanks!
 
25 Oct 2010
Reviewed by: fallingfate
very easy!
 
29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: MISHAG
Just what I was looking for, nice proportions. Thanks!
 
29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: Carrell1
This is very easy and very good.
 
29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: MONICAPOTTER
My family and I loved this sauce. Thank you
 
29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: COLAC
I like this recipe. I am not sure if I got the right chilli oil because it was seasme chilli oil and I am not a fan of sesame oil.
 
09 Jun 2010
Reviewed by: Jillian
This stuff is sooo good! I made this the other night to go with steamed dumplings we ordered and unfortunately we didn't have enough sauce. For some reason one small cup for me just doesn't cut it. I used low sodium soy sauce and subbed sesame oil for the chili oil - I also added some finely chopped green onions. If you want to make it a bit sweeter add just the tiniest bit of brown sugar. You can change it up with ginger as well. Just play with it to suit your tastes.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Aug 2008
Reviewed by: Spice Spice Baby
This was great. Over 20 years ago, a Japanese friend of mine showed me how to make this and I had forgotten. I did not have chili oil, so I used sesame oil. It turned out wonderful. My family loved it. Now I will have to try it with chili oil.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Feb 2005
Reviewed by: SHINY3
This is great and easy! I lightly drizzle seasame oil on potstickers or dumplings with this and it is a perfect little topper to a great dish! I also add finely chopped chives or green onions to it. Thanks!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Mar 2009
Reviewed by: Beth Jackson Bates
Wow - this sauce is excellent. At first I thought it was a little too hot, but it actually really goes well with potstickers. I added about 1/2 tbsp of minced fresh ginger to top it off. Really delicious.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes