My Reviews (44)

Antipasto Appetizer Platter

This is a beautiful dish that's always a hit! This is a layered antipasto plate, so you can cut it in square slices neatly and find all the ingredients in every bite. Add veggies to your liking. Serve with fresh ciabatta or crusty bread. Enjoy!
Reviews (44)


23 Sep 2002
Reviewed by: jensenly
I tried this exactly as the recipe calls for and ended up with soggy lettuce in between layers of meat and cheese. The instructions for the provolone was way too much cheese and I would cut in half. I would agree with the review with suggests simply laying all the different ingrediants side by side on a platter. Great ingrediants, but be prepared to spend a few $$. This is not an inexpensive recipe! I'll try it again, and see if laying all the ingrediants side by side helps. Nov. 2004 - Back again! I tried this again with a few modifications and it was great. Left out the lettuce, fresh mushrooms, green olives and gorganzola. I was going for a very firm, compact dish and wanted to eliminate soft ingredients or anything that might be hard to cut. I layered all the ingredients in a 13x9 dish and then place it into the freezer, just until it was very cold. (not frozen, though). This enabled me to slice the dish into neat, bite sized squares which I then stuck a toothpick in and made an appetizer platter. Great hit because of the small bite-sizes and all the low-carb dieters loved it!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Aug 2002
Reviewed by: A277387
All of my favorites on one platter! If you’re having a dinner party you have to serve this as your cold appetizer!! I change one ingredient - I use fresh mozzarella balls. Also, instead of layering the ingredients, I arrange them side-by-side around a platter and fill in the center with the soft cheeses so that my guests may choose what they like without having to sift through all those layers. Wonderful!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Feb 2003
Reviewed by: Navy_Mommy
I love to make Antipasto platters. They are expensive though. I didn't place everything that Wendy listed on mine, there was just no way I have a platter that big. I agree with other reviewers that you shouldn't later the meat and cheese. I will tailor my platter to the crowd I am serving too. Some times it is just meat and cheese. I agree to leave the dressing off the lettuce. I do however drizzle my veggies and meat with a mixture of olive oil and oregano to add a little extra flavor since I usually don't serve dip with the platter. I don't recommend putting the oil on the cheese though or it will get soggy.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Mar 2002
Reviewed by: COLLEENESTRACUZZI
I didn't make the platter version but instead just mixed all the ingredients and left out the lettuce. It was amazing! Despite making a large portion, this dish didn't last long.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Jan 2003
Reviewed by: GINAH1
I made this to bring to a New Year's Eve party and based upon previous reviews, I omitted the Italian dressing so it wouldn't get soggy and layered the meats side by side. The veggies were served on a separate platter. Everyone loved it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 Nov 2006
Reviewed by: Shelley W.
Absolutely phenomenal! I made this platter a day in advance...and it was still the hit of the party. It makes a beautiful centerpiece serving dish. As suggested in some of the other reviews, I decreased provolone to one pound. I also omited mushrooms and gorgonzola cheese. I cut the platter into serving pieces before adding the "toppings" (olives, artichokes, etc) which seemed to work well. I also added dressing just before serving to prevent everything from getting soggy. If you need to make this a day in advance, I would suggest using romaine lettuce instead of iceberg-- it would hold up a little better. I highly suggest this recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Mar 2003
Reviewed by: KATIE66
I brought this to a party, and not one bit was left. Everyone wanted to know who made the anitpasto! One word-to-the-wise: it's very expensive--I think it cost me about $60-70 for all the ingredients. And you'd better get a patient deli-person to wait on you!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Mar 2001
Reviewed by: WMAURO
To clarify.... Remove the lettuce leaves in their entirely, and layed out on the platter in a smooth layer. The larger the leaves the better. This is what keeps the serving squares together.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Dec 2005
Reviewed by: PATTERSONG
YUM!! It was a bit expensive to make, but, the taste and the compliments were well worth it! We cut the cheese and meat into cubes or strips. I would add sliced red onion and garlic croutons next time. A must for pizza or spaghetti parties. We only used about 1 lb. of parmesan cheese to top.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 May 2010
Reviewed by: Amanda Litherland
Made this for a BIG party! Took a while to get all the ingredients at the deli and people were rather surprised at the huge platter of meat and cheese, but everyone loved it. Only downfall is, if you get all the ingredients in the proper quantity and high quality as per the recipe, it does get rather expensive.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes