My Reviews (133)

Easy Vegetable Curry

If you are looking for a quick and easy vegetable curry this is the perfect recipe that can be used as a vegetarian main or a simple side dish as part of a larger meal.
Reviews (133)


03 Oct 2008
Reviewed by: Amee
I took the suggestion of another review and added the can of Coconut milk and only about 1 and 1/2 cups of chicken broth. It took on a creamy consistency that was so fragrant and tasted amazing! I didn't think it need much more in spice after the curry powder (on our travels a few years ago I had a Turkish Curry I picked up at a local market and I think it was already a little spicier than a normal curry). I also used all fresh veggies in this order: 1 lg. carrot and 1/4 a head of Cauliflower, 2 fresh tomatoes and some chicken I had already cooked before hand. Those were added to the onion/garlic/curry tomato paste, broth and milk concoction. Let those simmer for about 20-25 min. Then I added nice large chunks of Zucchini, Mushrooms and the bell pepper and let those simmer for 15 min. or more (test to make sure they are not overdone along the way). I will try next time to top it off with the cilantro but didn't have any. I definately recommend something for a crunch . . .cashews were another suggestion I took. The salty sweet and spicy was perfect combo. I will be hanging on to this to make again and again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
Comment:
09 Apr 2009
mamaUK said:
Used different ingredients. This curry was absolutely completely delicious! I thought I would try making this as a one last attempt at making a lovely veg curry at home, all the others just didn't taste good enough. Well, this is it! I will be making this fortnightly now! The only thing different I did was boiled some potatoes separately and added chunks during the last five minutes of cooking. I felt this made it a really complete meal, I served it wih warm Nann bread and it was real comfort food! I think next time I might remove the skin from some salad tomatoes and add chunks of fresh tomato too, and use carrots and cauliflower as the veg with potatoes also. Yummy!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
16 Sep 2003
Reviewed by: Caroline C
This is a really easy recipe to modify. I add fresh cauliflower, okra and zucchini, as well as potato. It's also really yummy if you throw in a handful of split cashew nuts about 5 mins before you are going to serve it (for extra crunchiness, dry fry them in a pan for a few minutes).
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Sep 2001
Reviewed by: AMANDAKJONES
This was very hearty and had tons of rich flavor! It was also easy and very nutritious! So, essentially, it made an excellent vegetarian meal. I added in a few red and yellow peppers when cooking the onions and garlic, and that worked well, because my frowzen vegetable mix did not contain those. Likewise for some mushrooms, which I threw in with the frozen veggies. Finally, I think that potatoes in the mix would be really great, and I'll be sure to use them next time. There will definitely be a next time, though, because this was a great recipe. Thanks!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Feb 2012
Reviewed by: pieppiep
A quick and easy vegan meal - used fresh cauliflower, spinach and potato instead of frozen mixed veg because that's what I had to hand. Served it with basmati rice and poppadoms, even my anti-vegetable son ate it without too much complaining
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
05 Mar 2012
Reviewed by: dnel
simple and very tasty, needed to add some sour cream though as it was rather too spicy.
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
30 Dec 2003
Reviewed by: KNANGREAVE
THIS WAS DELISH! I didn't have any tomato paste, so i just used a few teaspoons of butter instead (1 and a half, I believe) Also, I added about 2 tsps of powdered ginger as well. I absolutely loved this recipe and will make it again without a doubt.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Apr 2007
Reviewed by: Ginger
Exactly as described- quick and easy! I doubled the sauce and used a 15 oz.can of light coconut milk instead of water. I threw in a fresh bag of veggies and some baked tofu- excellent w/jasmine rice! thanks
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 May 2002
Reviewed by: Tracy Curtis
This was a strange receipe. I really didn't care for it. It reminded me of a tomato receipe which isn't what I wanted to curry. I wouldn't make this again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Jan 2004
Reviewed by: ACOVEY
This was amazing! It had such a rich flavor, and was so filling. Like others suggested, I added potatoes and pecans, which made it much better. I made this for my parents and my dad, who is a very picky eater, couldn't stop raving about it and went back for thirds! I'm definitely going to make this again and again!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes