My Reviews (18)

Marshmallow Chocolate Popcorn

Like a Rocky Road, these easy treats contain popcorn, mini marshmallows, salted peanuts and dark chocolate. Lovely!
Reviews (18)


20 Dec 2007
Reviewed by: SYNEVA B
I tried to make these today. After almost failing miserably here are my suggestions. First I had to add some oil to my chocolate chips to get them to melt smooth enough. Second, it became quickly apparent that there was way too much chocolate for 12 truffles. Luckily I had more of all the other ingredients. It seemed like a real pain to try to pour on top of the ingredients into the muffin pan, so instead I poured the other ingredients into the chocolate and kept mixing until the consistency was right (at least twice as much as called for if not more. Unfortunately my chocolate was too hot and it melted some of the marshmallows. Uggghhh!!!! Once I had a good mixture I dropped them into mini muffin cups. It made about 28 truffles instead of 12. I scraped the remainder of the chocolate onto a spoon and put some popcorn, marshmallows and peanuts on it. Yummy! I think I would actually make these again now that I know the secrets. Add oil to the chocolate and don't let it get too hot. Mix the stuff in one big bowl and then put them into the muffin tins. Good luck!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Dec 2005
Reviewed by: Lauren
pretty good-except, I suggest putting melted chocolate in the bottom of the pan and then the popcorn,nuts, and marshmellows and topping it off with more chocolate to make sure it is covered. Also, i recommend putting the truffles in mini colored paper cups to make them look nicer. I even melted chocolate/carmel morsals instead of plain chocolate ones.yum!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Dec 2008
Reviewed by: SOOPERMOMMY
This was a good recipe, though I recommend the following... Add 4 Tablespoons of cream and butter to the chocolate while melting. Adding the milk and butter creates a ganache which is easier to bite through than solid chocolate. Also before pouring the chocolate, move the ingredients to the sides by borrowing a hole in the middle of the ingredients... then pour the choc into the 'hole' and you will find that the chocolate holds the items together. Lastly, pretzels broken into bite-sized pieces are a good substitute for the popcorn and seem to hold the crunch better. Another reviewer complained about chopping the chocolate... I used chocolate chips and found no need for chopping.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Aug 2008
Reviewed by: Cara
This is a very easy treat. The most challenging part of the dish is chopping a pound of chocolate though I think it is worth it to use chocoalte blocks as opposed to chips for quality. I made these for a picnic and they had softened by the time people ate them. They were messy but tasty. I would like to have tried them when the chocolate was still hardened by the cooling. Almost too rich for me with the amount of chocolate on each need to help hold the items together. I wonder if making a marshmallow paste of sorts to hold the ingredients together would be a good idea so you can then drizzle the chocolate sparingly over each "truffle". I may try that next time. Also, I think dried cranberries may be a good addition to this recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
Comment:
27 Oct 2011
Allrecipes said:
Hi ShellMc, can your 5 year old have other nuts? Any other nut - almonds, hazelnuts, pecans - would work a treat. If you want to skip nuts entirely, how about using dried currants or raisins? Another idea, for that salty edge, would be lightly crushing plain salted pretzels - it may sound strange, but the pretzels will mimic that slight saltiness and crunch that you would find with the salted peanuts! Just be sure to use plain salted pretzels, no flavoured pretzels. Let us know how you get on!
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
06 Oct 2011
Reviewed by: flickik
I made these for a friend who just got her braces off. Everyone loved them. Here's how I changed the recipe to make it work for me. First, I chopped walnuts and put them in the bottom of the mini muffin cup liner. Then, I poured the melted chocolate over the nuts. I placed two pieces of buttered, salted popcorn and two mini marshmallows on top of the chocolate. I used about 3/4 lb of chocolate with 1/4 cup cream to make it pourable. The recipe made 24 truffles for me. So delish!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
31 Mar 2008
Reviewed by: Nancy
Super yummy. I mixed all the ingredients, including the melted chocolate, in a bowl first then transfered to muffin tins. They didn't turn out as perfect looking truffles, but rather delicious lumps of goodness. It didn't melt the marshmallows, as one other reviewer reported - Maybe because I added the marshmallows to the mix last. I will definitely make this again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Dec 2011
Reviewed by: chd
very good
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
Comment:
24 Oct 2011
ShellMc said:
These sound really tasty. I would love to make these with my children but having 5 yr old peanuts is out of the question. Has anyone tried these using an alternitive and what did you use?
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
11 Jan 2009
Reviewed by: samantha
I used spanish peanuts and buttered popcorn. These were good at room temperature, but very messy. They did not turn out the way I thought.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes