My Reviews (115)

Feta, Asparagus and Couscous Salad

I love this combination. It happened by accident and now I make it often. It is quick yet filling so it can be a main or side.
Reviews (115)


19 May 2018
Reviewed by: sylvia.amar13
Very fresh!
 
Comment:
21 Jan 2010
Triddles said:
This sounds like a yummy recipe but it should probably be under vegetarian not vegan as fetta is an animal product.
 
Comment:
10 Oct 2009
Gawok said:
This recipe is not "vegan" due to the use of Feta (goats) cheese. Unless the cook can obtain vegan feta (not easy to find) or replaces with another soy based cheese. The vegan tag should be removed.
 
24 Jul 2007
Reviewed by: kscams
Love this recipe, but after making it several times now I've found that you only need 1 tbs of vinegar and 1 tbs of olive oil (or none at all). The vinegar can be overpowering if you use the full amount called for, especially when doubling the recipe. 2/3c uncooked couscous will feed 6-8 as a side. Again, the recipe is delicious. Thanks!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Nov 2008
Reviewed by: Baricat
Superb! Instead of grape tomatoes, I added peeled, seeded and chopped Roma tomatoes. I used nice, fat asparagus spears, peeled and cooked only until al dente. Also added fresh mushrooms which had been sauteed with minced shallots, then reduced with dark rum. Used chicken stock to make the couscous instead of water, which added a lot of flavor. Added a handful of chopped, fresh basil leaves and a sprinkle of Asiago along with the feta. Brought it to a potluck at my quilting bee today and it drew raves. Many stuffed pita bread with it and appreciated that it was a filling, yet healthy sandwich. The recipe is a good starting point for a few tweaks that make this over-the-moon delicious. Even though I made quite a few additions, A+ for a versatile, out-of-the-ordinary recipe that can be altered easily to suit your taste.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Mar 2008
Reviewed by: Chickpeaschick
This was very yummy-we used trader joes multigrain couscous (instead of regular). It has a combination of mini chickpeas, quinoa, large israeli couscous and orzo. The nutty flavors of the blend along with the cheese and asparagus worked very well with the sweet balsamic vinegar. We will certainly make this again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Sep 2009
Reviewed by: MaryBeth Murray
This is a great side dish- and easy too! Here is what I did to make it really tasty....cook the couscous in chicken broth. Then I roasted both the asparagus and the cherry tomatoes (cut in half) with a drizzle of olive oil and a generous shake of salt and pepper. I also added some sliced green onion. Mixed the oil and vinegar in a small bowl, then dressed the couscous and vegetables with it. I then tossed it with some really good quality goat feta, although only 4 oz. We enjoyed this side with some grilled salmon! YUM!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Jun 2008
Reviewed by: Linda Brewer
this is a great recipe. I did make several changes though. I made the couscous and let it sit out to cool to room temp.. I blanched my asparagus and immediately plunged it in ice water. I cut up two stalk celery with leaves. i made carrot slivers with my potato peeler. i opened a can of whole tomatoes, put the juice in a ziploc in the freezer for another time and sliced up the tomatoes into cubes. I also cubed a whole cucumber. When the couscous was room temp, I cut the asparagus into small pieces and added it and all the other vegies, 1/4 cup fresh mozzarella, 1 T mayo, 2 t. italian dressing, 3 sprigs fresh thyme, and about 1/4 cup cucumber dill dip (sour cream based, made for chips and vegies)mixed it all together and everyone in this household RAVED about it! even the asparagus haters ate it all. Thank you for the base recipe for me to create from! linda
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Apr 2008
Reviewed by: Lisa Michelle
This is really good. I had to modify it a little because of what I had on hand, but I'm certain it would have been just as good either way. I substituted artichoke hearts for the asparagus because I didn't have any on hand and then I used flavored feta for the cheese. I might next time use white balsamic vinegar just to keep the natural color of couscous. Great recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Feb 2008
Reviewed by: Clifford Randall Lyde
My compliments to the chef!!! This is definitely going to be a great addition to our backyard BBQ's! I added chopped, fresh basil - and will probably add more next time. The next go 'round I will add more tomatoes and feta than called for.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes