My Reviews (1,117)

French Onion Soup with Gruyere

This recipe creates a great onion soup as well as providing the instructions for a restaurant quality presentation of toast and grilled cheese on the top.
Reviews (1117)


20 Jun 2015
Reviewed by: riannevw
Lovely recipe and extremely easy to make! It takes a while, but the result is a bowl of awesome comfort food.
 
19 Jun 2012
Reviewed by: kitchenfairy111
Loved the soup, definitely the best french onion soup i have made. Except a bit hard to eat the melted cheese, very stringy
 
12 Sep 2006
Reviewed by: Jersey Tomato
Hi! Recipe creator/contributor here. Thanks for trying the onion soup and for all the thoughtful reviews. Just a couple of comments I thought might be helpful. The 1 teaspoon of salt in the beginning of the recipe cannot be omitted as it is necessary for the proper caramelization of the onions. However, at the conclusion of the simmering process, please be sure to taste the soup before deciding to add any more salt (or pepper). Also, the addition of balsamic vinegar at the end is very important--not only for taste--but also because there's a chemical in red onions that tends to turn the soup gray and cloudy, and the balsamic vinegar corrects that. Lastly, while my broiler does take 4-5 minutes to melt the cheese properly, that's probably because I place the baking sheet on a lower rack. Yours may take less time. Well, thanks again for all your kind comments... and, enjoy!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Feb 2006
Reviewed by: JIM F.
ONE MORE TIME... Have made this again and, again, wasn't disappointed. THIS IS THE BEST, without exception! Anyone looking for the best Onion Soup Recipe on the Planet? You found it! This was the most incredible onion soup recipe we have ever tried. We followed the recipe exactly. .Make sure you cook the onions as suggested to almost a carmelized soft, syrupy, consistency. You may not need to adjust the salt in the end; the combination of beef and chicken broth and the Worcestershire and balsamic vinegar may be salty enough for many. The bottom line to this review, is if you want to really impress your family and friends with a onion soup recipe that is better than any restaurant recipe we have ever tried, USE THIS ONE! You will not be disappointed. Thank you so much for sharing this recipe with us.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Jul 2006
Reviewed by: AliciaGski
One recommendation: I use croutons rather than sliced French bread. It is much easier than cutting through a thick piece of cheese-covered bread. Guests and family say they like that: it adds to the enjoyment and ease of eating without losing any visual appeal.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Jul 2006
Reviewed by: IMVINTAGE
This french onion soup has great depth of flavors!!! I pretty much stuck to the recipe except I used seasoned croutons instead of the bread & I omitted the mozzarella cheese as I didn't have any. I did miss the stringiness of the mozzarella ...gruyere has a wonderful flavor but it tends to just clump up. I did decrease the chicken broth some & used more beef (I used low sodium broths) & I aded a tsp. of beef base which really helped kick up the beefy flavor. This was a fairly hearty french onion soup, I think next time I might add more broth to thin it out some. The wine I used was a shiraz. A glass of the shiraz & a fresh salad was all the accompaniments it needed...thanks so much for a wonderful soup!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Jul 2006
Reviewed by: Susan Parran
This is really good soup! I made it per the directions but I don't eat beef, so used an equal mix of chicken and vege-table stocks. This soup tastes a lot like what you might order at a nicer restaurant. I do question the use of mozzerella and asiago cheeses - two Italian cheeses - in something that is so decidedly French. I personally was not a fan of the resulting taste and next time I will combine parts of this and my recipe, which calls for the use of Gruyere or true Emmental swiss (no substitutions). If desired, throw into the soup the rind of one hard French or Swiss-made cheese of your choice, doing so after removing kettle from flame to rest (about ten minutes). I also use sherry wine, not balsamic vinegar, because my grandmother always used this flavor in soups and casseroles. The sherry imparts a subtle sweet-smokey flavor that is a nice counterpoint to the Gruyere's mild tanginess. Remove cheese rind, and ladle the soup into bowls. Top with a 1/2 in. slice of dense, day-old, crusty french baguette that has been lightly toasted beforehand. Top with Gruyere swiss or Emmental and continue with recipe, broiling as directed. I found just 3 minutes in the broiler was enough. Keep an eye out for over cooking - there is nothing worse than the taste and smell of burnt cheese.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Feb 2007
Reviewed by: MSROOTZ
Excellent soup. I didn't read through the recipe first so I had to make 2 modifications. I had to use dried parsley and thyme. I used 1/2 tsp. parsley and 1/4 tsp. thyme and I only had enough swiss for one piece on top. Even with the modifications, we still rate this a 5. It has a deep full bodied flavor. Can't wait to try it again, but I will make sure I have the right amount of cheese and the fresh herbs.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Jun 2006
Reviewed by: BUNNYSLUG
I'm going to give it 5 stars even though it didn't quite turn out for me. I tried to double this recipe and my advice is...DON'T! It never reached the fabled gooey, almost carmelized state of which so many people spoke. I stood over the pot stirring for not 1/2 hour, but 2 hours hoping against hope it would all work out in the end. While it smelled great and the onion became soft, it never carmelized. Plus, my hair smelled like onion for two days from standing over onion steam for so long... While it was very very good I must only imagine how much better it would have been had it attained the gooey state. So, I'm going to try this again-without doubling it. I used the recommended cheese...don't substitute on the Asiago. MMMM GOOD!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Feb 2006
Reviewed by: JOHNHEAV
A friend I was with yesterday had FO soup in one of our more upscale restruants, so I had a hankerin' to try it today. This recipe rendered a much-superior soup than she had! Easy and delicious!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes