My Reviews (33)

Avocado Caprese Salad

The classic colours of the caprese salad, but with avocado replacing the basil leaves. Wonderful served with ciabatta bread and good olive oil on the side.
Reviews (33)


Comment:
17 Apr 2009
Peanut1 said:
Something else. I added a basil leaf on top of each piece of mozzarella for added flavour: it was delicious!
 
29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: CMYLEE93
I regularly make this for lunch as it is very quick and easy. I like to serve it with fresh basil leaves on top.
 
29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: honeyfied
This was quite yummy, but the avocados were out-of-place. I love avocados and will happily eat them any way they come. However, it is a shame to mar the brilliance of the fresh mozzarella and tomato- which is perfection on its own.
 
17 Apr 2009
Reviewed by: Peanut1
Simple but delicious. I agree the flavour of the avocado is somewhat lost, but all those lovely vitamins are still there. We served it for lunch with ciabatta bread.
 
29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: CHEFSINGLEDAD
Perfect summer lunch! I like the addition of avocado to the traditional caprese salad. Used basil and parmesan cheese for garnish.
 
29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: alexsmom
Very easy to prepare. I liked the addition of avocado as a twist to the caprese. I will do this a lot in the summer!
 
29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: Genie
This was a yummy salad, although the avocado, which I love, was kind of lost. Its delicate flavor was overwhelmed by the stronger tastes of the vinegar, tomato, and mozzarella. Also, if you're going to make this, you really can't skimp...you have to use high quality ingredients. As a result, this is a surprisingly expensive dish. This is very filling. My husband and I had it for dinner and it was more than enough to fill us. This would probably be fine to make 6 appetizers (one "stack" per person). Thanks for the recipe!
 
24 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: Auntie D in MN
This salad is DIVINE! Caprese salad has always been my favorite salad, but the addition of creamy avocado slices, puts this over the moon. The recipe does not call for basil, but I still like to add some basil strips to my salad. Also, to make this worth it, invest in quality ingredients-you won't be sorry.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Nov 2005
Reviewed by: JANIE42
I regularly make this for lunch as it is very quick and easy. I like to serve it with fresh basil leaves on top.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Jun 2015
Reviewed by: Crystal S
Very nice salad served as a starter on a hot summer's day. I used a tomato straight from the garden that was so flavorful and juicy it tasted like a little bit of summer sunshine. Using the avocado was a nice alternative and a welcome change to a traditional Caprese salad. The only difference is I used a balsamic vinegar that I had reduced down to a syrup consistency. Very nice change of pace devilsdancefloor. Thank you for the submission.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes