My Reviews (364)

Spinach, Leek and White Bean Soup

White bean soup with spinach and leeks is a quick and delicious soup that is perfect for vegetarians and very filling. I've been making this soup for years, but I really craved it when I was pregnant with my fourth child.
Reviews (364)


23 Nov 2010
Reviewed by: lilfairywren
Well I was pleasantly surprised. I was given a huge bag of spinach today, and the leaves were strong and bold in flavour, but the combination knitted nicely together! I liked it because it was different. It has a slight Mediterranean theme to it, and yes I'll make this again. I did tweak a tad, instead of using Vegetable stock, I used Massell Beef, and Massell Chicken stock combined, which btw are Vegan, and I gotta say, "worked perfectly for this soup, and I added dried chilli flakes as well... Thanks for sharing such a nice recipe...
 
Comment:
30 Sep 2009
RaewynL said:
Altered ingredient amounts. Halved the leeks, bayleaves, cumin and beans but left everything else as is. Gave it a quick (not total) hand blend in the pot before the spinach and couscous went in (took the bayleaf out for that!)
 
22 Mar 2015
Reviewed by: DeaMichael
This was delicious. I made a couple of tweaks by adding wholemeal couscous and about a cup and half of water. We don't like a thick soup so the added water made it soupier. Thank you for sharing your recipe. I'll be making this again.
 
20 Mar 2013
Reviewed by: Hoppo53
A really quick and easy jummy soup.
 
30 Sep 2009
Reviewed by: RaewynL
I really like this soup...the couscous gives it enough bulk to make it a meal, cumin and bayleaves give a great flavour, beans=protein and leafy greens!! You can't go wrong. Tho I did tweak.
 
22 Sep 2009
Reviewed by: susieq777
You craved this when you were pregnant. I'm not pregnant but I shall be craving this again. Beautiful.
 
15 Aug 2009
Reviewed by: Linda
I loved this soup! I have never used leek as an ingredient before and wasn't sure I'd like it but I will definitely make this soup again. I halved the recipe since I only had 2 leeks and I added 2 cloves minced garlic and used about half the amount of cumin. It was great pureed with a stickblender and teamed with my latest favourite discovery: Chang's Rice Vermicelli noodles in place of the cous cous. This was fast, easy, healthy and delicious!
 
06 Oct 2008
Reviewed by: amanda
Just like it says is quick and filling. When our planned long weekend bbq became an inside event I made this as part of the lunch. Didn't use spinach but instead a mix of silver beet and rocket and sorrel (it's a long story:-) for the greens. Tasted great!
 
10 Dec 2007
Reviewed by: susiekew
Delicious and easy soup. Great for vegetarians, like me, when you use vegetable broth. Two suggestions: If you are a lemon lover like me, squeezing a wedge of lemon into your soup or floating a lemon slice on top a=can make a good thing even better. Also, if you aren't going to use all the soup at once, instead of putting the spinch into the pot with the rest of the soup, just put a portion into the bottom of the bowl and pur your hot soup on top. Spinach cooks pretty well instantly, and you will be saved from having slimy spinch leaves when you reheat the leftovers. Thanks for the great recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Dec 2007
Reviewed by: KEBA561
Our soup prepared as per recipe was very bland! My wife however rescued it by adding crushed tomatoes and green chili peppers ...one 28oz can of tomatoes and one 4 oz can of green chilies.....that did the trick and we are enjoying the result...now ****
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes