My Reviews (104)

Quick Beef Stew in the Pressure Cooker

Cooking this beef stew in the pressure cooker makes the meat fall-apart tender in just 20 minutes. Serve with bread and a salad.
Reviews (104)


07 May 2017
Reviewed by: AJanetwood
Made this today and wasn't disappointed. Used last of vegetables in fridge before shopping day. Dredged meat in flour with onion and garlic powder before browning. Used carrots celery mushroom zucchini and onion in with meat added bay leaves tomato paste holbrooks sauce with vegetable stock I had to use up. whilst still hot added bag of spinach near use by date. Served with smashed potato steamed broccoli and green beans. Now new family favoutite
 
07 Oct 2006
Reviewed by: LILYSNANNY
I used this recipe as the basis but I changed/added several things. I dredged the meat in seasoned flour before browning and I used beef broth insead of bouillon. I also added 3 whole cloves of garlic, fresh ground pepper and salt to taste, and 2 teaspoons of Worcheshire. I cooked all this for 10 minutes, cooled it down and added the potatoes and some green peas. I then cooked it for another 10 minutes. I think I cooked it too high toward the end because it began to burn slightly, but it did not affect the taste. It was delicious and fast.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Aug 2007
Reviewed by: LemonLush
Cooking with a pressure cooker is a lost art. I never see anyone using one anymore - it's a shame. People don't know what they are missing out on! The ultimate fast food when rich, hearty beef stew takes only 30 minutes from beginning to end! I use a similar basic recipe such as this, but add a TBS of tomato paste to the beef broth base. I don't use bouillian because of the salt factor. I don't bother to parboil potatoes and add the carrots and taters at the last 5 minutes of cooking. Comes out perfect every time. If you par boil the potatoes it removes the "stick to your ribs" factor that's so devine about stew! Try the School Lunchroom Rolls recipe on this website with this stew. VERY nice together and oh, such sweet memories!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Mar 2006
Reviewed by: LeslieD
This stew was very good. I made a few changes to suit our tastes. I added a can of diced tomatoes and a can of mixed veggies. I poured the tomatoes on top of the stew since tomatoes tend to scorch if mixed in. I also cooked the potatoes with the stew instead of in another pot. I cooked the stew at high pressure for 10 minutes and then added the potatoes and let them cook the remaining 10 minutes in the broth.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Dec 2006
Reviewed by: LALMUFFIN
Excellent stew recipe.. I have tried a couple and this one is the best yet. I added a few chopped celery stalks, a large clove of garlic and a dash of red wine vinegar. A taste sensation!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Jan 2010
Reviewed by: SHOCK
I like it. It's very similar to my Dad's recipe. I coated the beef with seasoned flour before browning it. I also used two cups of beef broth instead of the water and bullion cubes and cooked the potatoes with the meat, carrots and onion. I also put three bay leaves on top of everything...
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Nov 2004
Reviewed by: MISSCANADA
To add to this recipe, feel free to add as many vegitables as you'd like, peas are a nice addition, some people add turnips...to your own taste, this recipe as it is, is a good base beef stew recipe to be adjusted to your tastes.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Apr 2008
Reviewed by: HippieBev
I forgot to put stew in the crock pot, so used pressure cooker to make dinner in time. May never go back again! Used ratio of 1# beef/1# carrots/3 large potatoes. Cooked 10 min, added potatoes, cooked another 10 min. Also added a couple of shakes of Montreal Seasoning.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Sep 2011
Reviewed by: africangie
I enjoyed this recipe and followed others' advice. I dredged the meat in flour with spices, then browned it, removed it, and fried an onion, plus a bell pepper and some garlic. I threw in a carrot, the meat, water, a bit of Worcestershire, and bouillon, then cooked under pressure for 10 minutes. The carrots were already done at that point, so next time I'll throw them in with the potatoes. After the ten minutes, I added 4 potatoes, 1 big sweet potato, a large zucchini, and a bit more water and cooked under pressure for another ten minutes. Finally, I removed some of the liquid and mixed it with some corn starch to thicken. I served it with homemade whole wheat bread, and it was a hit. Thanks for a simple, adaptable recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 May 2011
Reviewed by: Nelly Evans
This is the 2nd time I make this, everyone in my family likes it, I also browned the meat in seasoned flour and added crushed garlic 3 or 4 cloves, then after browning I added 1 14 1/2 oz. Can of beef broth, 1/2 cup of water, 1tbsp worchestire, 1 tbsp of red wine vinegar,diced carrots, cooked for 10 minutes. Added potatoes and peas, celery and checked sauce for taste, cooked another 10 minutes! Delicious!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes