My Reviews (109)

Real Mayonnaise

Commercial mayonnaise is cheap, but have you ever tasted the real thing? It's not hard to make in the food processor.
Reviews (109)


Comment:
20 Feb 2009
wilau said:
i have discovered if you make mayo with extra virgin olive oil it is bitter with normal olive oil it is not 3x i made it with different virgin olive oils and it was bitter using normal olive oil it was not no idea why i hope this helps
 
16 Jan 2009
Reviewed by: wilau
i have made mayo like this for over 20 years though don't always add mustard re bitter mayo mine was the same last month i checked the olive oil i had and it tasted bitter it was new one i bought and had not bought this brand before so just check your olive oil in case that it the problem
 
12 Nov 2008
Reviewed by: leathal711
I made this with extra virgin olive oil and the taste was quite bitter - did I do something wrong??
 
15 Jul 2006
Reviewed by: bitch'n kitchen
This is a good recipe. The secret when making homemade mayonnaise is to pour the oil slowly while the blender is running. If the oil is poured to quickly or the blender is not on a high speed you get an oily mess. It is simple if you follow that simple rule. If you use olive oil it will have a strong taste, if you use canola oil it will be more like traditional mayonnaise. The most important thing though is this is the type of mayonnaise that you get food poisoning with if its left at room temperature because of the raw egg. DO NOT TAKE A POTATO SALAD TO A PICNIC AND LEAVE IT OUT. If you are going to a picnic use commercially prepared mayonnaise.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Jul 2007
Reviewed by: Jay
I like this recipe so far but switch out the mustard and the lemon juice and replace it with white wine vinegar at least 2 tablespoons of it. and leave out the garlic
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Feb 2007
Reviewed by: PatD
This might be totally out of the box for mayonnaise, but I used Eggbeaters and it turned out great! I added more garlic also, as I'll be using the mayo in a salad dressing, and it is also great. I may never buy mayonnaise again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Apr 2010
Reviewed by: Free fall chef
I called the Eggbeaters company to find out how much to use to equal one whole egg. Answer: 1/4 cup equals one whole egg. If you need it, the equivalent of one egg yolk is one tablespoon of Eggbeaters. I like the safety of using a pasturized product instead of raw egg for this recipe. By the way, the Eggbeaters representative told me that Eggbeaters can be used to make ice cream!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 May 2010
Reviewed by: Robinm
I have made this for years since I first received a Braun stick blender for Christmas! Before, I had not much success making my own mayo, but the stick blender makes it in less than one minute. Place all ingredients in the bottom of a tall narrow container that your stick blender can fit easily in. Place blender all the way to the bottom, turn on and slowly raise the blender. If any of the oil doesn't blend right in, just move the blender up and down to incorporate! Easy, delicious! thank you for sharing Cynthia!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Oct 2005
Reviewed by: D7SHIMMERZ
I tried this using Olive oil and fresh lemon juice... it is amazing! Made the best egg salad my family has ever had, everyone should try this recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: s.broadaway
This is a great mayonnaise recipe. You need to use the blender to get it thick, and slowly pour the oil in. I used just a little garlic juice, from a jar of minced garlic. And I used white vinegar instead of lemon juice. Perfect when you are out of mayonnaise and don't want to go to the store - as any cook knows, "miracle whip" is no substitue for real mayonnaise in a recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes