My Reviews (622)

Bacon Colcannon

Colcannon is often just mashed potatoes with kale but this version is beefed up with bacon and onion. Delicious, especially in the winter months.
Reviews (622)


17 Mar 2005
Reviewed by: BLANGSON
This is the tastiest potatoe and cabbage dish ever!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Mar 2004
Reviewed by: TTN
This is excellent!! I also used extra bacon since I don't believe there is ever enough of this much maligned meat. I'm definitely adding this to my list of favorite fix-aheads for the freezer. I also think this would be really good with some fresh apple grated in at the end, think I'll try that if there's anything left over. Thanks Diane Follow up: Even better the next day and I did try the fresh grated apple and it gives a wonderful fresh taste to an already wonderful dish. Enjoy!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 May 2004
Reviewed by: KATHYP100
Delicious! A great way to get the kids to eat cabbage.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 May 2004
Reviewed by: SOPHIE1LAPIN
I made this around St. Pat's for my first time and loved it. I followed the recipe as-is and see no need to alter any of the steps. The leftovers were great as well. I served this alongside corned beef brisket w/ horseradish.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Mar 2004
Reviewed by: DJB713
Delicious! What an easy way to turn plain mashed potatoes into a spectacular dish. I must admit, I used instant potatoes, but the end result, as far as anyone at the dinner table was concerned, was that of excellence. A definite keeper!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Feb 2004
Reviewed by: Alicia Phares Verburg
I'll never go back to regular ol' mashed potatoes!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Feb 2004
Reviewed by: Mile High Cook
My husband and I loved this. It was easy to make on a weeknight. We used pancetta (Italian bacon), which gave it a different flavor. Very yummy.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
31 Dec 2003
Reviewed by: Kerry
good and hearty...i cooked the bacon too long (my fault!) so it had a bit of a burned taste but the recipe is good.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Dec 2003
Reviewed by: CURLEY
Made this for Thanksgiving and my mother-in-law and husband really enjoyed it. I think next time I will try and cook the cabbage longer to make it softer but I may have been rushing because I burnt the 1st batch. A little more bacon couldn't hurt either. Very tasty and will make again for my polish relatives who enjoy cabbage.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Oct 2003
Reviewed by: BUNNYGRRL
I just love colcannon, so I maybe biased, but this was delish! I've made it twice in the last month, huge batches that I've frozen and eaten from almost every day. I'm planning a Halloween party, and eating colcannon all the time is really getting me in the mood. Just Fantastic!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes