My Reviews (622)

Bacon Colcannon

Colcannon is often just mashed potatoes with kale but this version is beefed up with bacon and onion. Delicious, especially in the winter months.
Reviews (622)


21 Feb 2007
Reviewed by: TJ
Always trying ways to enhance mashed potatoes. This one is TERRIFIC. I make a double batch and save the leftovers for use on Shepherds pie.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Aug 2004
Reviewed by: ESKIMOPIEO
Made this on St. Pat's Day when the family asked to try a traditional Irish dish. The kids watched me making it, announced that it looked "strange" and said they would try just a little. They loved it and wanted me to make it again a week later! I used some baby yellow potatoes since that was what I had on hand & a bag of shredded cabbage for coleslaw. The first time I used some liquid from my corned beef to sort of steam the cabbage rather than saute it, and the second time I prepared it following the recipe. It was great either way.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Jan 2007
Reviewed by: crys22
I didn't think the whole idea of blending mashed potatoes with cooked cabbage would appeal to my family, but it was an excellent way to get the kids to eat their "greens" and they loved it! I followed the recipe exactly and found it very tasty.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Dec 2006
Reviewed by: Laurrie Piland
traditional colcannon uses kale rather than cabbage...try this substitution and you will be pleasantly suprised.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Feb 2007
Reviewed by: i heart my skillet
This was really good, although I made some adjustments to suite our taste. I used about half the potatoes (adjust the milk accordingly), only 2 slices of bacon, and sauteed the onions prior to adding the cabbage. The butter seemed unnecessary at the end, and no one missed it because of the bacon in the recipe. This made a great side to a pork roast and was perfect for a chilly night.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Mar 2006
Reviewed by: Kathleen Bayramian
We made this on St. Patricks day the first time. Now we make it often-it is delicious. Everyone-even the pickest,non-cabbage eater,loves it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Aug 2011
Reviewed by: DianeF
I still love making/eating this stuff and am so delighted that there are so many others who've enjoyed it over the years as well! Just thought I'd share a tip that I've come to love over the years... sometimes I forget to melt the butter used to pour into the well and when that happens I don't make a well but I simply cut the 1/4 cup butter into chunks and press them slightly into the surface of the colcannon. Within minutes there are multiple "mini wells" of melted buttery yumminess! Everybody gets to have a good shot at getting a serving with melted butter! Oh, and I've also started using more bacon! Life's too short not to! :-)
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Dec 2006
Reviewed by: merri rosenthal
this is delicious. i did need a bit more salt and i added chopped garlic to the cabbage mix. yummy
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Mar 2010
Reviewed by: kissthecook
I usually make my potatoes in the same pot as my corned beef, but decided to try this recipe. I must say my family loved this. From now on I will be making this quite frequently. The only thing I did differently was add a little more bacon (2 slices) because I made more than 2 1/2 lbs of potatoes. I thought I would have leftovers but between my daughter and son (both adults) they polished it off. Thanks so much for the recipe, it was wonderful and very tasty.!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Mar 2011
Reviewed by: Roni Vella Johnson
I decided to make this to go along with the Corned Beef cooking in the crockpot instead of throwing all the veggies in with the meat as usual. Let me just say it was SO much better - and before yesterday neither my husband nor I even had heard of colannon! This is definitely what we will be having with our corned beef from now on - thanks for the recipe!! Update: the next day, I chopped up the leftover corned beef and added it to the colcannon - the best comfort food ever!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes