My Reviews (622)

Bacon Colcannon

Colcannon is often just mashed potatoes with kale but this version is beefed up with bacon and onion. Delicious, especially in the winter months.
Reviews (622)


Comment:
04 Aug 2009
becstribe said:
Made it healthier. I loved the look of the recipe but needed to use up some vegetables I had in the fridge. used all of the ingredients listed and to the cabbage I added 1 large grated carrot and 2 tsp crushed garlic. I used bacon, but I took all of the fat off and just used a splash of olive oil to cook the cabbage and onion and carrot. To the potato, I added some cauliflower and steamed it with the potato and mashed it together.
 
04 Oct 2011
Reviewed by: Ang72
Oh wow - so delicious! I have never had colcannon before but needed to use up some potatoes, so decided to give this a go. I used red cabbage and red onion because that's all I had, but it works beautifully!
 
04 Aug 2009
Reviewed by: becstribe
The whole family loved this recipe, from the 3yr old to the 14yr old, even Hubby. A great winter dish.
 
10 Aug 2012
Reviewed by: russky
had this the other night with pork chops,deliciouse,changed nothing.
 
Comment:
06 Mar 2012
i have to add to my previous comment, i steamed the potatos, mixed in the butter, and served the dish with sour cream. it was absolutely delisious. will defenately be having more of dianes colcannon.
 
05 Mar 2012
Reviewed by: peterrobinson
this recepie was very nice. i added the butter to the mash, will have again.
 
18 Jun 2009
Reviewed by: justcaz
this is just as nice as is served @ Mean Fiddler in Rouse Hill
 
12 Jan 2008
Reviewed by: Kitchen Commander
These are really good. Being a kitchen soldier I had to modify the recipe just a bit. I increased the amount of bacon to 6 strips instead of 4 because bacon makes anything better. I added a little olive oil and season all to the cabbage and onion while they were sauteing. Everything else was done per the recipe. I think they have an aprodisiac kind of effect to them because my wife couldn't keep her hands off of me after I made these. I made them with another recipe found here for meat loaf and it was just scrupious. Hope you all enjoy my review and remember, don't let your meat loaf.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Mar 2005
Reviewed by: Mrs.B.
For St. Patrick's Day 2004, I made this side dish to go with our corned beef. I made it again today for this year's St. Patty's feast. My family loves it. The only thing I changed, following a reviewers suggestion, was to use a 16 oz. bag of cole slaw mix instead of the 1/2 head of cabbage. It turned out great and I liked the little bit of color the carrot added. This one's definitely a keeper.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Feb 2007
Reviewed by: yvetteski
This was a hearty, warming vegetarian main dish for a cold evening. I omitted the bacon and subbed olive oil and butter to saute the cabbage mix and added 2 lg cloves of garlic to compensate for the flavor. I boiled the potato in veggie broth for the same reason. I also increased the relative proportions of cabbage and onion to potato. Lastly, I added about a 1/4 c. or so of aged white cheddar with a little extra as garnish with more dill too. Next time I will try carrots, turnips or rutabagas with the potato for a change of pace, or perhaps try some Guiness Stout instead of the milk for a vegan dish.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes