My Reviews (450)

Super Chocolate Ice Cream

This is a very rich, custard style ice cream and my favourite chocolate ice cream. You will need an ice cream maker.
Reviews (450)


05 Jul 2009
Reviewed by: jenny620
Wow! I tried this yesterday and I am home-made ice cream virgin! This truly is the nicest ice cream I have ever tasted! Even the hubby likes it. I made it exactly to the recipe and it freezes fine. I froze mine overnight after putting it through about 40-50 mins in the ice cream maker. It was divine. Is's now all gone. I am making a double recipe as I type this. Thumbs up to this recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 May 2009
Reviewed by: Rinnie
Very good!!! Family loved it! First time I ever made ice cream.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Apr 2009
Reviewed by: Basia
I'm having to beat my husband away from the ice cream. We're having my son's 3rd birthday and I'm making homemade ice cream and it's taking me days. This recipe is very chocolatey and creamy. I'll update after the party when we can have more than just a tsp of a taste. So, the ice cream was VERY chocolatety and rich!! It's the kind of ice cream that you can't eat fast, savoring every bite. I made a second batch with some modification: I mixed and cooked all the ingredients together, let it chill for a full 24 hrs. and I added 1/4tsp of mint extract. I'll be adding milk chocolate chips (chopped). I'll let you know how that turned out.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Apr 2009
Reviewed by: MOMMYRKR
This ice cream was absolutely incredible. It was our first attempt at homemade ice cream, though my mom had made it for years. We decided to try this recipe and were shocked at how good it was. We expected it to be fun, and taste good, but it was amazing. It ended up very soft in our ice cream freezer, so we put it in the fridge. There was plenty of air in it, so that it did not freeze rock hard, but rather was very, very similar to the consistency of store-bought ice cream. We added oreo chunks also, which made it incredible. We will be making this again today!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Mar 2009
Reviewed by: sugafree
It was very creamy!! I used dark chocolate instead of milk chocolate, and crushed some thin mints in the ice cream while it was mixing....
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Mar 2009
Reviewed by: Lindsey
best chocolate ice cream i have made as of yet! don't even bother with non-custard recipes; they cannot compete with the lovely richness of this recipe. going to try it soon with splenda!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Jan 2009
Reviewed by: bec
This is the best ice cream recipe I have ever made. It came out great. It even stays good in the freezer for a few days.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: Carmela
This ice cream was delicious. It took a bit longer to make because of the heating, but it was worth the wait. It was a little too sweet for me though.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Aug 2008
Reviewed by: JULIEDARRIN
This is a dandy of a recipe. I had no trouble getting it to freeze well. It was the first ice cream I have ever made and I did it in a 40 year old hand crank ice cream freezer in the tropical heat of San Pedro Sula, Honduras. Very nice flavor. I used evaporated milk instead of cream.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: MARIEBT
I have just gotten into making homemade ice cream over the past few weeks. This turned out perfect for me. I have made it twice now with rave reviews. It is very creamy. I have to agree with another reviewer that maybe it is not "very" chocolate but I'm going to experiment with some darker varieties. But as this recipe is written, the flavor is quite good.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes