My Reviews (59)

Turkish Mince and Potatoes

This is a Turkish recipe that is called Musaka (spellings may vary). It's a tasty twist on meat and potatoes.
Reviews (59)


09 Apr 2009
Reviewed by: Mary M.
I made a vegetarian version of this using a meat substitute. I used a 14.5 oz. can of tomato sauce and adjusted the amount of water to compensate. I also doubled the egg and yogurt mixture. I used Italian seasoning blend as a substitute for the savory. It was perfectly done after 30 minutes in the oven, and was very well received by my entire family. It was on the mild side, but that appeals to my kids, so that was fine. I will definitely be making this one again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Dec 2007
Reviewed by: Karen
Was rather disappointed with this one...it was okay but I don't think I'd make it again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Oct 2007
Reviewed by: Luv2Harp
This was really good & hearty. I didn't have many of the spices. I just put in about 1/2 tsp. of pepper & 3/4 Tbsp. basil. Cooked it on the stove until the potatoes were mostly tender and then cooked in the over at 350 for 45 min. I really liked how filling it was & inexpensive. I really liked the taste - the yogurt gives it a little zip. I served it w/ french green beans on the side which worked great. The casserole could have been a bit dry w/out having the green beans to mix in as you eat it. I'll definitely make it again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Apr 2007
Reviewed by: Sharon C.
I practically doubled the spices (as recommended)somehow this just came over as a disappointment. We are crazy about Turkish/Greek/Middle Eastern food; I just don't know what went wrong.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Jan 2007
Reviewed by: RAINNY
I used this as a base and made some changes. I used beef broth instead of water, crushed tomatoes instead of tomato sauce and omitted the olive oil. Seasonings ended up being 2t of Cilantro, 2t of Basil and 2t of Thyme. The dish tasted fabulous - especially the yogurt/egg top!! Warning - I had to up the temp of the oven (from 325 to 375) and cook on speed bake an additional 20 minutes (after the initial 40 minutes) to get the potatoes to cook through. Knowing this, I'll definitely make this again, but will double the egg/yogurt topping mix.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Sep 2004
Reviewed by: JDREFFITT
I cooked the potatoes for 5 min as suggested. I also drained the fat from the beef after it cooked. Adding water made it way too soupy so I had to bake it for an extra 20 min to get some of the water off. Taste was average.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Aug 2004
Reviewed by: EJANZEN
Bland, underdone potatoes...I would not recommend this recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Nov 2003
Reviewed by: Niki Hoffman Farbotko
We really like this. I browned the ground beef in a little bit of olive oil and then drained the oil and fat. The potatoes were a tiny bit crunchy, but not too bad. I loved the yogurt sauce. My husband mixed a little barbeque sauce in with his to give it a little zing.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Nov 2003
Reviewed by: KARACAY
This is both Greek and Turkish as the cusines are very simmilar. My Turkish mother-in-law taught me how to make this with sliced eggplant added. I also do not add extra water and finish cooking in the over for about 10 minutes before serving with the lid off. Tastes the best when made with homemade yougurt.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes