My Reviews (59)

Turkish Mince and Potatoes

This is a Turkish recipe that is called Musaka (spellings may vary). It's a tasty twist on meat and potatoes.
Reviews (59)


20 May 2004
Reviewed by: TASHA888
I served this recipe to a group of Turks and Bulgarians. I didn't tell them what I was making and I am American, so when one of them took a bite and said "Oh my god! You made Mmusaka!" I could not have been more pleased. One lady didn't even believe it was my first time making it. The thing is that I ended up adding about three times the amount of paprika and twice the cumin and cayenne pepper in order to make it come out with what I consider enough flavor. But then, I (and most Bulgarians and Turks) like strong flavor. Next time I will also add about three times the Chubritsa (summer savory) which I found at a mediterranean grocery store, because I could not taste it at all in the dish. I boiled the potatoes for about 15 minutes before cooling them in cold water, then peeled and cubed them. I used about 12 ounces of plain homemade tomato sauce. I drained the meat after cooking and found the amount of olive oil called for in the recipe to be way too much; 2 tablespoons is plenty for browning the beef. I also added a little less water to the mix prior to baking. Even though I had to modify the ingredients significantly, I am going to give this recipe 4/5 stars because my Turkish boyfriend is still bragging to all his friends about my cooking because of it:-) One more note: the Turkish version of this recipe definitely calls for eggplant, which can be bought sliced and canned from wherever you buy the chubritsa. Thanks for sharing this recipe Lisa!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 May 2003
Reviewed by: CAWSMOM
My husband absolutely loves this dish. Its robust flavor and simple ingredients make it a must-have for my recipe box.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Sep 2006
Reviewed by: vi1
This is the traditional BULGARIAN musaka. The only difference, I find is that this recipe uses ground beef. Bulgarians usually prepare the dish with ground pork. The Greek version usually has eggplant in it. It a tasty dish, and it is very easy to prepare.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 May 2003
Reviewed by: OffRoadGal
Personally I'd never even heard of Musaka, so didn't know what it was supposed to look like or taste like but the ingrediants sounded intreging. (OK, so I'm easily amused) I didn't realize till I popped the dish into the over that there was no "cook till golden brown" or "cook till potatoes are done" (although, in hindsight, I guess that's a given). I substituted some of the ground beef with mushrooms and onions, maybe that was a mistake. The dish was not very flavorful, although it was interesting. This recipe has promise but it needs further instruction and more flavor, more spices, maybe more tomato sauce or extra diced tomatoes. I'll give it one more shot.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Jun 2008
Reviewed by: Nadia
actually, italian seasoning is closer to "chubritsa", not basil... There are online stores where you can purchase it from, but if you know somebody that is Bulgarian, they always have that at their home, you can always borrow some.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Nov 2005
Reviewed by: sandikay
Our family enjoyed this new flavor. Next time I will add less water and more tomato sauce.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Apr 2010
Reviewed by: Angela Ribarszky
I added green beans because we like to have lots of veggies with our meal. I also baked it on 400F otherwise it would have taken for over two hours to get dinner ready. Thanks for the recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Jan 2006
Reviewed by: Lynn Mott
This dish is very tasteful but actually all it is is hamburger and potatoes with a slight tomato taste. Don't think I'll do it again. Nothing special. Authentic Musaka has eggplant.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 May 2003
Reviewed by: KittStarr
This dish was very tasty and flavorful, but kind of soupy/watery even after removing spoonfuls of liquid before baking. It has an unusual flavor, different, but delicious. I'll make it again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 May 2003
Reviewed by: TAMMANEY
the flavors in this are very tasty but i was not at all pleased with the potatoes. they never seemed to soften for me.. i think next time i may try eggplant or lasanga noodles. might even nuke the potatoes in the microwave before cooking on stove top & oven. as crazy as this sounds, i think a dash of cinnamon in the meat mix might even be good.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes