My Reviews (235)

Barbecue Tandoori Chicken

This is a recipe for Tandoori chicken with a twist - it's cooked on the barbecue. Marinate for at least 6 hours or overnight if you can.
Reviews (235)


29 May 2007
Reviewed by: SHELLYGIRL814
This was my first time venturing into the world of Indian cooking. What an easy, wonderful, tasty meal. I followed the recipe and some of the reviewers suggestions. I used non-fat yogurt and the food coloring. I did add the cilantro to the marinade, in addition to putting it on after. I marinated it for the 24 hours and it was PERFECT. Spicy and flavorful. I will be making this MANY times and hope to share it with all my friends. Updated: I make this about twice a month. I make 16 chicken thighs and freeze them for when I want some of this tasty meat. I also bake this at 400 degrees for about 30 minutes.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 Mar 2003
Reviewed by: AnnaG
This was the best, most flavorful chicken tandoori I have ever made. I used skinless breasts on the bone, marinated them for 24 hours, and broiled them for 10-12 minutes on each side.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Jun 2003
Reviewed by: JRAHMAN
My husband is from Pakistan and he loved this recipe! It was VERY easy and delicious! As a matter of fact, it was the best Tandoori chicken I've had anywhere. I used boneless, skinless chicken breasts and they were very moist and tasty. For dessert, try Simmi's Kulfi recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Jun 2010
Reviewed by: JDawnP
This version is perfectly edible but pales, in MY opinion, when compared to Tandoori chicken generally available. I suspect that this may be the result of cooking at too low a temperature. A Tandoor is an Indian clay oven, where the temperatures regularly reach levels far hotter than the standard kitchen oven. I tried this recipe as specified and was disappointed, and I have given 3 stars as a result. I then cooked it at a much higher temperature, which resulted in a better consistency but dried it out too much. I finally slightly increased all the quantities of spices and yoghurt and cooked that on the highest heat I could, and found THAT would have rated 4.5 stars. So the spice combination is good, the principle is good, the cooking is not. I strongly reiterate that this is MY opinion. I also have a vague problem with using food colouring. By using Turmeric, you can get a good yellow colour without needing the artificiality of colouring, and tomato purée (or harissa if you like heat) can add a reddish tinge.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Oct 2007
Reviewed by: MegWells
Excellent and easy. I let the chicken breasts marinate for a day to give full flavor. I also left out the food colorings, and my guests laughed when we initially looked at the chicken..it was the craziest shade of pink/coral that I've ever seen. But it still looks like the chicken I'd get at my local Indian restaurant. Everyone loved it. I paired it with basmati rice, coconut-curry sauce, steamed vegetables, and naan. It really tasted authentic!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Jun 2010
Reviewed by: branchan
Excellent recipe! Used boneless skinless chicken thighs that I put on kabobs. Don't like food coloring? Use some colorful spices instead. I used some turmeric and some paprika to give it a brilliant orange color! The taste was the same.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Oct 2005
Reviewed by: AMHEINTZ
Thank you very much for this recipe! I marinaded it for 24 hours, scraped off all the marinade , and then cooked in my Romertopf clay pot for about 45 minutes at 480deg. The chicken came out perfect. I almost didn't add the food coloring, but I'm glad I did because the finished product looked exactly like what it looks like in restaurants. My husband declared it a success. I'll be making this again and again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Mar 2006
Reviewed by: Ani
I woul prefer not to give this dish any star value because I was unable to follow the recipe as stated. As I made it I didn't like it, but I will try it again. Here's what went wrong: 1- Absolutely use the food colouring...unless you want to eat pink chicken. 2- Do use a grill. It was waaaay too cold to go outside and grill, so I did cooked the chicken with marinade in a pan (like a stir-fry). I am positive the grilled flavour is far superior. 3-I could not find garam masala. I'm sure I have seen it before, but just when i needed it I couldn't find it. So instead I used a tandoori paste along with all the other ingredients. Wasn't that great... I will definetly try this again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Nov 2005
Reviewed by: KRANEY
This was great! I baked it in the oven at 350 for about an hour and a half. I was pressed for time, so I didn't remove the skin first. I wish I had because when you remove the skin after cooking, it takes away all the flavor! I will definitely make this again though. The dish went nicely with "Indian Dahl and Spinach" from this site. Thanks for the recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Aug 2008
Reviewed by: Trixie
I thought this was pretty good! I used 3 boneless, skinless chicken breasts (close to 2 lbs), used onion powder instead of onion (due to allergy) and skipped the cilantro (accidently). I marinaded for about 18 hours in the fridge, then threw the whole thing, marinade and all, into a 350 oven for about 45 minutes (uncovered). The chicken came out juicy and bursting with flavor. Next time I try this (and there will most definitely be a next time) I'm going to cube the chicken and maybe cook it on the grill, kabob style. I agree with the others that said the grill might add a smoky flavor that would work great with this dish, but it was just too hot to grill today. I can't guarantee the taste is authentic (the onion allergy prevents me from eating this when I'm out), but I can say it's pretty darn good! Thanks!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes