My Reviews (15)

Welsh Beef Stew

This is a traditional Welsh stew called cawl. The quantities used here are based on my own requirements for two to three days, as this soup is one that improves on subsequent re-heating. Serve with lightly buttered bread and a good mature Cheddar cheese
Reviews (15)


06 Aug 2007
Reviewed by: KINEM
Very tasty & hearty soup. I wasn't sure how the "boys" would like rutabaga in soup, but it was a big hit. I like thick & chunky soups, so this fit the bill. Will definitely make again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Dec 2007
Reviewed by: jennazenna
My family likes to have a couple of British meals around Christmas time, since we have ancestors from England, Scotland, Wales & Ireland - so I was excited to find this recipe. I used some beef on hand instead of the shin shank and it turned out nicely. I wasn't sure how everyone would react to the rutabagas and leeks, but the whole family really liked it! Excellent recipe! I'm looking forward to making it again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Feb 2010
Reviewed by: SelfProphet
This is a good start, but the old style of Welsh cooking is very seasonal, so dont be afraid to use fresh local seasonal vegetables. I personally use Lamb Neck if i can get my hands on some from my local butchers. Best cooked late in the evening and left over night as the next day it is far better tasting. Eat with a nice crusty wholemeal roll and a good wedge of mature cheddar cheese.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Mar 2006
Reviewed by: Dee
This is a hearty soup and is even better the next day.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Jan 2010
Reviewed by: BFHMarquette
This soup is awesome. Everyone in my office raved about it. I didn't have beef shank, so I used 12 cups of beef broth made with Wyler's and added some chopped serloin. I also didn't have leeks so I used green onion. I will definatley be making this again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Sep 2012
Reviewed by: Nerys Corbin
I am a welsh girl living in the states who's favourite food in the world is Cawl. I make it a lot, my mother makes it every week even my Dadcu (grampa) who is 87 makes it often. It is very easy to make. This recipe looks fine but I prefer to use Ham and always thicken it a little at the end with 2 tblsp flour whisked with a little cold water. I love Parsnips in my cawl and my mother likes Brussel sprouts. And leftovers taste better and better each day it sits. As long as it has meat, root veggies and Leeks it's called a Cawl!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Dec 2011
Reviewed by: Bogie
I was looking for a recipe to handle a beef shank I bought, and loved this! It's very hearty. I think the proportions are a bit off, though. I used nearly twice the amount of meat, and could hardly taste it over what seemed to be far too much cabbage (I used one small head, as listed. I'll probably only used half of one next time). Otherwise, very tasty!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Jan 2010
Reviewed by: sminckler
My co-worker made this and brought it in, and we all just **loved** it. I couldn't stop eating it! She used a cut-up steak instead of the shank, but it was fantastic.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Mar 2012
Reviewed by: StarbugHayley
Delicious! I took a shortcut and braised stew-cut beef in beer for 2 hours (after searing it). Forgot the rutabaga and didn't want to return to the store, so I went without. Very nice - simple and traditional tasting.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
Comment:
18 Nov 2009
riallews said:
This is just the way my gran used to make cawl. I prefer it with more root vegetables and using lamb, but I do still have really good memories of my gran's shin beef cawl. It's a must on a cold winter night!
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes