My Reviews (99)

Pumpkin Soup with Thai Spices

Your favourite pumpkin soup, jazzed up with Thai spices like chilli, lemongrass and basil and made with coconut milk.
Reviews (99)


Comment:
16 Sep 2009
Aphie said:
This has been one of my STAPLES this past winter - creamy but dairy free, sweet but not overly so, warming and just delicious, not to mention deceptively easy to make!
 
Comment:
16 Sep 2009
Aphie said:
Altered ingredient amounts. I like to pre-bake and puree my pumpkin, then use four cups of that, to make it slightly less sweet and coconutty. Also tend to omit the basil when in a rush.
 
30 Jun 2010
Reviewed by: pixib
delicious i had no lemon grass so substituted lemon juice. easy to make, creamy texture & zingy taste
 
05 Jun 2016
Reviewed by: maximus
really simple to make and tastes perfect !
 
06 Dec 2009
Reviewed by: kittenbrain
A great recipe when you make these changes: 1. Use more garlic (6-8 cloves) 2. Use lots of fresh lemongrass. Take a spike of lemongrass, hammer it to release the flavor, add to the oil and remember to strain it out in the end. 3. Fresh ginger works great also, add to the oil and strain out in the end. 4. Use a Thai oil like peanut oil. You can skip the butter. 5. Spice the soup towards the end using your favorite Thai spices. I used tumeric, paprika, curry, etc.) 6. When serving, squeeze a few drops of lime juice and zest some lime peel (Keffir lime works amazing if you have access to a specialty produce store, but regular limes will bring out a lot of flavor too). 7. Enjoy!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Dec 2004
Reviewed by: MICHELLY2
Excellent, really, really, good! It has a explosive flavor that is unique. But if your going to make it dont mess with the ingredients till you've tried it. PLEASE. Recomend for those who enjoy exotic food.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Nov 2005
Reviewed by: trfella
The soup was a bit too rich and the lemon grass left strings of hard fibers behind after blending. However, I will cook this again! I increased the seasonings and added some "Tom Yum" paste since other reviewrs thought it needed a boost. Next time I will do the same, but use lite coconut milk and use less coconut milk and more broth. This recipe is worth tinkering with!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Oct 2008
Reviewed by: Monica Williams
this was served at a recent all staff meeting. (One of the pleasures of working at Allrecipes!) It was delicious and tasted of Fall, but with a Thai twist.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Jan 2004
Reviewed by: COOKING66
I'd try it again cooking the pumpkin separately in the chicken stock, then adding the sauteed shallot, etc. right before sticking in the blender. The seasonings lost significant flavor cooking in the soup.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Oct 2008
Reviewed by: RoseanneM
This was really a nice pumpkin soup, but the Thai flavors were very subtle (I was hoping for a little more Thai taste, since I love Thai food). I added fresh ginger, more garlic, cayenne pepper, more lemongrass and more chilis the second time I made this. And everyone wanted seconds.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes