My Reviews (345)

Indonesian Satay Chicken

This is an original Indonesian satay recipe. I hope all you cooks around the world can enjoy it! You can grill or barbecue the chicken and serve with some hot chilli on the side.
Reviews (345)


16 Apr 2002
Reviewed by: ALAN VANCE
I am of Dutch descent, where Indonesian cuisine was quite popular. This recipe is freakin' superb. Try it. You will love it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Nov 2002
Reviewed by: Verna
WOW talk about EASY and extremely tasty!!! Our family absolutely loved this satay recipe!! I didn't think 15 minutes of marinating time would be enough but it was very good!! We love spiced up food so next time I might marinate it even longer. We used our George Foreman grill and since it cooks both sides at the same time we just grilled it for 5 minutes and it came out great!!! Thanks Estherlita...this is wonderful!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Sep 2003
Reviewed by: FFQUEEN
These were a positive hit at my dinner event. Even with my substitutions, they were delicious. I used pasta sauce instead of the tomato sauce, and olive oil for the peanut oil. I also, shocked by how liquidy my peanut sauce was turning out, doubled the peanut butter to 1 cup. I'm used to a thicker sauce, and this turned out just how I wanted it. A restaurant-quality recipe - thank you.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Feb 2011
Reviewed by: Beth Willis
Oh my God! This is fabulous...It has alot of ingredients, but is worth the effort I made this as written. If you are not going to make it as written and you don't like it then you shouldn't rate it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Jul 2003
Reviewed by: LCSTEIN
I loved this dish as did my family. I did spice up the peanut sauce with a bit of red pepper flakes as was suggested by other reviewers. Otherwise, the recipe was perfect. Served with basmati rice and a side of broccoli. Delish!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 Oct 2005
Reviewed by: maplebook
Delicious, easy and visually appealing makes this a perfect appetizer for company. I made the following modifications: halved the marinade for one chicken breast; substituted ketchup for tomato sauce; added a pinch of red pepper flakes; flattened chicken before cutting into strips; marinaded chicken in a bag for four hours; soaked skewers for at least two hours; grilled on my Cuisinart griddler. I did not make the peanut sauce. I look forward to trying this again with a fattier cut of chicken like the thigh, as well as with pork, beef and prawns. This is a wonderful recipe. Thank you for sharing!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Feb 2007
Reviewed by: Jamie
This was really good. And will go in my party folder recommendation.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Oct 2003
Reviewed by: BIZZYSMOM
Great chicken! Didn't care for the dipping sauce...too peanuty. I had chicken satay at a party recently and the sauce had a bit of curry, maybe? The marinade is great and I'll definitely use it again. I did add a bit of chili paste to the marinade to give it a little zip. Thanks Estherlita for sharing!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 Sep 2003
Reviewed by: SARAMILKY
Thank you Estherlita! My 6 year old daughter couldn't get enough - she ate more than my husband and myself. I accidentally opened up tomatoe soup and used that instead of the tomatoe sauce and it still turned out great. Thanks for this recipe - a definite do again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Nov 2002
Reviewed by: DEBMCE4
Fantastic! As good as any restaurant. I left it to marinade about 1 hour. This would be just as good made with chicken thighs. Thanks for the great recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes