My Reviews (125)

Portuguese Custard Tarts

Super simple custard tarts, very easy to make using frozen puff pastry. Don't be fooled by the simplicity of the recipe, these are addictive!
Reviews (125)


08 May 2002
Reviewed by: SLIVER00
WOW ---- YUUUUUUUUMMMMMMYYYYYYY
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Jan 2001
Reviewed by: ROBERT JONES
very easy to make, one of the best custards I've ever had
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Jan 2011
Reviewed by: Jennifer C.
I don't think I've ever rated anything one star before. Really, a failure all around. I used my stoneware muffin pan, cut the rounds of dough & rolled them out 1. the dough never cooked on the bottom, resulting in a doughy blob. 2. We salvaged the custard and it is just okay. Way too sweet, strange texture, too eggy, bland flavor. Would have preferred a pudding-like consistency. Won't make again and I love sweets & pastries!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Jan 2011
Reviewed by: Ana01
Made them last weekend and they were super easy and delicious! I'm Portuguese, lived in Portugal for 28 years so I'm pretty familiar with these pastries and a huge fan!! The only thing I will try to change next time is the puff pastry. I'll try to make it thinner so it looks more like the original. I did add 2 cinnamon sticks and a little fresh squeezed lemon juice to the mixture in the pan - personal preference though! Thanks for sharing the recipe, a keeper!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Mar 2011
Reviewed by: sassycdngirl
Delicious! But the sugar definitely has be cut down in half. A little too sweet but that's a personal preference. So easy to make and cheap as well. I am addicted to these and the bakery sells then for about $1 for one, and I can never eat just one, so definitely easier on my wallet when I make it at home.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Mar 2010
Reviewed by: fletch
tasty little tarts,sweeter than english baked version,if you like custard tarts you will love theese
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
22 May 2012
Reviewed by: eastvanbabygirl
Being Portuguese and knowing how Pasteis de Nata should be, I must say that this is an easy short cut way to make them, And you can tell with the end result. The custard was too sweet, and the store bought puff pastry doesn't even come close to making it yourself. It isn't as crispy or buttery as home made. I would make this as a quick craving killer, but would never make this recipe for company and call it pasteis de nata. They are good tarts though, and this recipe is a very creative way of reinventing a complicated recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Jun 2011
Reviewed by: Claire
I live near a very big Portuguese community, while the elements are there, the recipes custard portion is way too sweet and not custardy enough. My son loved them but they were way too sweet for me. I was disappointed because I love pasteis de nata and was hoping to save myself from having to drive to Newark everytime I want to eat them.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 Jul 2012
Reviewed by: yumyums
baked these tarts the other day, even though they where very tasty and well received i felt that the custard was to thick and that it needed more milk adding to the mixture. i will attempt these again with maybe 75ml more milk added and see what happens.
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
02 Nov 2011
Reviewed by: Brittney
My grandmother tought me how to make these in Portugal as a younger girl, this recipe was easier but just as good.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes