My Reviews (10)

Potato Soup with Lemon

My father who passed down this fantastic recipe. We always make it on cold days. The lemon really brightens it.
Reviews (10)


20 Dec 2002
Reviewed by: Lois Lane
This was quite easy & a very satisfying soup. Mashing up some of the potatoes makes for a great consistency. I really appreciate a potato soup recipe with no milk or cream. And I love lemon, so this is an ideal recipe in my book! The only thing I may do differently next time is add some scallions. Thanks for a great soup!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Jun 2005
Reviewed by: BEANZERSS
I felt that this soup should of had a more lemony flavor to it. However, mashing the potatoes did make the soup better. Next time, i would add more lemon and perhaps more spices.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
31 May 2006
Reviewed by: Trish L.
This is a great base soup. I've made it several times and like to add scallions, bacon, lemon zest, or whatever suits the situation!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Feb 2009
Reviewed by: Not so Plain Jane
Very nice soup. Low fat, Low calorie. Lemon is well balanced with potato so it's not too tart. This recipe is a keeper.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
31 Jan 2017
Reviewed by: Sarah C. Sutherland
This is one of our favourite winter meals - hearty and delicious
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Jan 2007
Reviewed by: Mary M.
I made this with a vegetable bouillon cube instead of chicken. Otherwise, I stuck to the recipe. It was a good soup, but I might add a little cayenne next time to give it some more "zip."
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Nov 2013
Reviewed by: BarbaraS
Followed recipe - no changes but it was too much lemon. Very disappointed because it smelled good cooking.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Apr 2013
Reviewed by: sheilact
It needed something else so I added 2/3 cup fresh chopped parsley and that did it
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Apr 2010
Reviewed by: Rita
I skipped the chicken bouillon and made it vegetarian with only water. I also sauteed the garlic, potato and celery in a bit of olive oil before adding the liquid. Overal it was a good soup, the turmeric really gives it a nice colour and taste.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Oct 2009
Reviewed by: foodbaby
This was a miss for us. We made a half recipe, were less than impressed, and the leftovers were thrown away after sitting in the fridge for a couple of days. It was edible but not worth going out of your way to make.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes