My Reviews (19)

Raisin Tea Loaf

This quick to make bread is rich, dark and delicious for breakfast or as an afternoon snack with coffee or tea.
Reviews (19)


21 Aug 2000
Reviewed by: M.ELLIZ
delicious, wonderful with hot tea/coffee
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Apr 2012
Reviewed by: Slug
very moist loaf. I used 50g less sugar and it still tasted plenty sweet enough for my family, fantastic!
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
15 Oct 2007
Reviewed by: Laughing
This was very tasty. I even accidentally overcooked one loaf, and it still came out moist and sweet. I used half chopped dates & half raisins because I didn't have enough raisins, and it was good. One note: this made more than two 9x5 loaf pans for me. I filled the loaf pans up to about an inch below the top (I was worried they would overflow), and I had enough extra batter to fill another mini loaf pan.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Jul 2006
Reviewed by: sian
As a welsh girl my self, this is a good recipe. My only criticism is that it is called bara brith not welsh tea loaf. But tasty all the same
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Aug 2009
Reviewed by: RepEAT Bakery
I needed something vegan and wanted to use what I had on hand, so I messed with this so much it could hardly be called the same recipe. However since the result deserved like 6 stars, I figured I owe this recipe at least 5!! Here is what I did: 2 cups water 1/2 c. raisins 4 t. baking soda 1/3 c. chopped dates 1/3 c. walnuts, chopped 1 c. applesauce 1/2 c. oil 1 1/2 c. sugar 3 eggs 2/3 c. molasses 1 t. vanilla 1/2 t. salt 4 1/2 c. flour 2 t. baking powder Heat water and raisins to boiling. Remove from heat and add baking soda, then dates and walnuts. Blend applesauce, oil, and sugar. Add eggs, molasses, vanilla, and salt. Graduaully add flour and baking powder. Grease and flour pans (grease with oil to retain parve). Pour batter into pans. (24 mini loaves) Bake 15-18 minutes
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Feb 2006
Reviewed by: Marl
I made this for the first time and it took it to an International Potluck dinner with my Trefoil Guild. The recipe is now going to be included in a cookbook being put together by one of the other Guilds with reference to the author of the recipe and All Recipes. I was worried with so much water being added, but pleasantly surprised. I received many positive compliments, and one member even took home much of what was leftover.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Jul 2010
Reviewed by: Mivvy
Easy to make and did not last long on the plate......
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
02 Jul 2006
Reviewed by: amyindenver
The subtle molasses taste is very nice, and I like the dark, rich color of the bread. I used golden raisins, which I definitely think is the way to go with the dark color of the bread itself. I would recommend this one and will be baking it again myself!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Apr 2006
Reviewed by: donna
I made this several times and it went very fast! I even made it for Christmas gifts. They were well received! Thanks for such a great recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Feb 2010
Reviewed by: SelfProphet
Good old "Bara Brith" any welsh lad brought up on this on the kitchen table will always go for this instead of chocolate or cookies. Cymru am byth!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes