My Reviews (12)

Prune Flan (Far Breton)

This is a classic prune flan recipe from northwest France - Bretangne. Very easy to make and served in the pan.
Reviews (12)


15 Jan 2011
Reviewed by: Mshell
The oven temp is WAY TO HOT and the time is far to long at this temp (30mins). At 230oC It burnt the top and sides of what would have been a nice dish. Something like 180oC would be better, but even then i'd check it regularly
 
13 Nov 2010
Reviewed by: Diana Moutsopoulos
Absolutely fantastic! Like the previous reviewer, I needed to use up some very old prunes. This is insanely easy to make and extremely delicious. I followed the recipe to a T, except for using an 11x7 inch baking dish, using soy milk, and using half of a vanilla pod instead of the vanilla sugar. Tried it warm about 20 minutes after taking it out of the oven and it was perfect. The baking time was spot on. I too am excited to try it cold tomorrow. Thank you for a wonderful recipe that I will make for years to come! ***** Update: I tried this cold after it was in the fridge all night. Surprisingly, I like it MUCH better warm or at room temperature.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Feb 2010
Reviewed by: dafadilly
I wanted to use leftover prunes and found this recipe. I made it as written with the exception of the vanilla sugar. I added 1 tsp vanilla instead. The presentation was impressive, the preparation simple and the result was delicious!!!! My husband was equally impressed. We just ate it, warm after about ten minutes. I want to try it cold tomorrow. Thanks for a great recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Jul 2011
Reviewed by: Diana
Absolutely fantastic! I needed to use up some very old prunes. This is insanely easy to make and extremely delicious. I followed the recipe to a T, except for using a sllightly smaller baking dish, using soya milk, and using half of a vanilla pod instead of the vanilla sugar. Tried it warm about 20 minutes after taking it out of the oven and it was perfect. The baking time was spot on. I too am excited to try it cold tomorrow. Thank you for a wonderful recipe that I will make for years to come! ***** Update: I tried this cold after it was in the fridge all night. Surprisingly, I like it MUCH better warm or at room temperature.
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
10 Feb 2011
Reviewed by: ravebaker
Excellent recipe! I did not have baking powder so, I separated the eggs, put the yolks with the flour, sugar, milk,ect.. blended them in a blender then, I whipped/folded the whites in last. Baked beautifully. Used some real vanilla bean too...Yummy
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
31 Jan 2013
Reviewed by: Lizwyly
Worked a treat: the taste was exactly how I remember it on an ancient trip to Brittany. Something amazing happens to the prunes in this dish. Will make it again. Great recipe, thank you!
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
25 May 2019
Reviewed by: Diane Nanos Parsons
Was just in Mont Saint Michel, France in April and has Far Breton for the first time and it was enchanting! Been looking for the recipe since. This one is not it. Definitely missing something. Not at all authentic. Need to figure it out!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Apr 2015
Reviewed by: gail giddings
I really liked this dessert; it is definitely one I will make again. I just have one question though; why is it necessary to leave the rum out when children are eating it, if the rum cooks out while it is baking?
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Jun 2014
Reviewed by: Ivy David
I never eat Far Breton before, the first time i made this is to impressed my french husband which is from Brittany. I tried this recipe few times without alcohol or without vanilla sugar. It still taste great no matter what your choice. I use sunsweet pitted prunes and add Grand Marnier in my cake instead of rum. Nowadays i make Far Breton at least once a month, the french (my husband and his colleague) really love it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Feb 2014
Reviewed by: EROCK101
I kept it in the oven a little longer to let it sit. It was amazing overall. Glad I picked this to use my leftover prunes.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes