My Reviews (190)

Chocolate and Zucchini Cupcakes

If you haven't tried it you'll be amazed how well zucchini complements chocolate. It also makes the cupcakes a bit healthier!
Reviews (190)


12 Feb 2013
Reviewed by: JessicaLiddle
I cut the oil down to 3/4 cup based on previous review. These cakes were moist without being heavy and had a great texture. The walnuts really made them special. Definitely need the chocolate icing
 
15 May 2010
Reviewed by: ant_queen
For some reason, mine ended up with a faint "fishy" aroma and taste. Not sure if it was the zucchini or the oil. I found these a bit too oily for my taste.
 
10 Oct 2016
Reviewed by: flossyfifi1234
My two year old loved making these with me. We modified the recipe slightly, using 4 tablespoons of cocoa instead of melted chocolate, cut sugar to 1 1/4 cups, used Rice Bran Oil instead of Vegetable and left out walnuts. Found cupcakes not oily just nicely moist. Will definitely make again.
 
24 Sep 2005
Reviewed by: Henry Smith
These cupcakes are easy and delicious. I did make a couple of modifications, though. The recipe just didn't seem chocolate-y enough for me, so I doubled the amount and added 2 extra Tbsp of sugar. Excessive, perhaps, but mmmmmm. I substituted a 1/2 cup of applesauce for 1/2 the oil. I also added 1 1/2 tsp of vanilla extract and 1 tsp of cinnamon. I forgot to put in the nuts and didn't frost them. 4 for the original recipe - 5 for my revised one! - henry's girlfriend
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 Jul 2007
Reviewed by: SPARKLER8666
Absolutely terrific! Per the other reviews I doubled the chocolate and reduced the oil to 3/4 cup (didn't need to add any applesauce to make up for it, but there is additional fat in the extra 2 squares of chocolate.) I grated golden zucchini with the skin on and used white whole wheat flour because I try to get as much fiber in as I can for my kids. I used white chocolate chips instead of nuts because my kids won't eat nuts. They turned out GREAT! Oh, and get this, I was gonna' make frosting, but my 11 year old son (who normally thinks frosting is the best part,) told me not to. I made a batch of mini-muffins with the batter first and sprinkled them with powdered sugar because the kids were hungry and I was running out of time. My son had one and said the powdered sugar was perfect, and frosting them wouldn't make them any better! Try them; you'll like them.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Aug 2012
Reviewed by: Sarah Jo
I made two small changes in this recipe--I cut the sugar back to a cup and I halved the vegetable oil and used one half cup homemade applesauce. Baked at 350, mine were done at 20 minutes. Mine did not turn out like cupcakes, they were more like muffins. Even so, the flavor of these was fantastic......even with the substituted applesauce. VERY moist. The whole family loved these. NOTE: I got 18 "muffins" from one recipe, not 24.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Mar 2002
Reviewed by: CLSKEEN
These were easy to make, and they turned out really well -- very moist. I was looking for a cupcake recipe that wasn't too sugary (because I worry about all the sugar that kids are fed) for my son's third birthday. I left out the nuts because I wasn't sure if the kids would like them. I added a teaspoon of vanilla just to give the batter a richer taste -- I don't know if it really made a difference or not. I frosted them lightly with a simple buttercream frosting. Delicious! (And the chocolate color hides the presence of the zucchini from picky young ones.)
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: Muffinmom
These are absolutely delicious! I think, after making these, I actually prefer these to regular chocolate cake, because they are incredibly moist and yummy! I made a few changes: First, I doubled the chocolate in these, to add a richer flavor as some other reviewers mentioned. Second, I used 3/4 C applesauce, and only 1/4 C oil. I am a health nut, and I can't in good conscience use 1 C of oil! The result was perfect, and these are de-lish!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Sep 2002
Reviewed by: SKOONUS
These were very good. I used applesauce instead of oil, and I made a silky chocolate butter frosting. Delicious!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 Jul 2002
Reviewed by: JONCIN
These cupcakes were great. I received an extremely large zucchini from my brother's garden and decided I needed lots of different recipes to experiment with and this one definitely made the grade. The cupcakes were moist and the chocolate frosting is a great addition. My husband was a little surprised when he bit into one because he thought they were just plain chocolate cupcakes, but he said they were good even with the zucchini added. This will be a great way to get the kids to eat their vegetables. Thanks for sharing.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes