My Reviews (1,760)

Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

This is a nice rich macaroni and cheese. Serve with a salad for a great meatless dinner. Hope you enjoy it!
Reviews (1760)


16 Dec 2008
Reviewed by: Linda
I didn't add the breadcrumbs and I thought it needed a little salt. It set well though, probably too well so I might have had a little too much pasta in there. I may try adding peas and bacon next time.
 
22 Feb 2015
Reviewed by: SarahInguanez
I didn't like the breadcrumbs either. My teenage daughter on the other hand who is the most fussiest of eaters, absolutely loved it!
 
23 Nov 2011
Reviewed by: Peedee
Husband loved this recipe...after all the years of my version Peedee
 
26 Feb 2007
Reviewed by: Julie Olsen
Very creamy and yummy. If you think your sauce is too runny before pouring it over the macaroni, it's not. I was very nervous that my sauce was not thick enough, but once I poured it over the macaroni and baked it, the dish turned out wonderful!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Jan 2007
Reviewed by: Heather S.
I have to laugh at the one who rated this 1 star for the fat and calories... who makes low cal mac & cheese? This is a great recipe. Prepare yourself for a heartattack on a plate but well worth it. I added onion powder, garlic powder, paprika and used crumbled ritz crackers as the topping. I thought the sauce was too runny when I poured it in the pan, but as the others said, it really thickens up when in the oven. My 2 year old loves it as do we. We accompanied it with steamed broccoli for a little healthy upswing.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Sep 2006
Reviewed by: Buffaloe
Rave reviews at my house. Can only give 4 stars though as I followed someone else's tips on reducing milk to 1/2C. Adding 2C evapo. milk and 1/2C sour cream. I decided to double the recipe so that we would have leftovers the next day. I put half the mix in one casserole dish and the other in another dish. Baked one and stored the other un-baked one in the fridge to be put in the oven 1/2 hour before dinner the next day. Do not worry that the sauce seems runny when you add it to the noodles. It thickens up A LOT! Right after the cheese melts add it to the noodles and you're in business.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Jun 2007
Reviewed by: nomoredrama31
Rich & Creamy. Looked a little bland, so I added minced garlic (1 tbsp), dry mustard powder (1/2 tsp)& used fresh shredded romano instead of parmesan (if you do use parmesan, use fresh shredded, if you use the grated Kraft kind in the shaker, sauce wont be smooth). Show patience with the roux. If yours came out lumpy, you didnt cook roux right or long enough (stir constantly when cooking roux)
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Jan 2007
Reviewed by: kkcooks
I had to try this recipe ever since I read the rating critizing it for being loaded with "fat" ie CHEESE... Duh, that's what Mac and cheese is about!! I made it with large elbow macaroni so the sauce got all inside the pasta... thru in an extra 1/2 inch slice of Velveeta and some white pepper, and jazzed up the crumbs by mixing the crumbs, melted butter, paprika, onion powder, salt & pepper and then sprinkling over the top. Very good "old-home" taste!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 May 2007
Reviewed by: lestoby
Very good! Everybody went back for seconds. The youngest male in the house (age 21) insisted on taking a bowl to go while his girlfriend took him to buy a couch (LOL!). The parmesan cheese made the consistency ever so slightly grainy and I might skip this ingredient next time.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 May 2000
Reviewed by: sweetiepeaz
I agree that a dash of dry mustard is missing from this recipe. Also, if you realllly want a rich taste, try substituting half of the milk with evaporated milk. The evaporated milk gives Mac & Cheese an amazingly rich & creamy taste. Other than those two things, it's pretty good!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes