My Reviews (38)

Chocolate Bourbon Bread Pudding

This is a rich and decadent bread pudding with a toasted pecan and bourbon sauce. It's always a treat!
Reviews (38)


21 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: GRADYSMOM
My husband requested bread pudding so I tried this recipe and he loved it.
 
21 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: CREATIVEWAYSTOSAVE
People were asking to take some of this home with them. I added the bourbon earlier in the instructions in order to reduce the strength of the taste.
 
21 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: BJC1Indy
This is a truly decadent pud. Worth every minute of your time and effort! I received rave reviews with many wanting a second serving. Thanks Jack!
 
21 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: Jo in Blairsville
Make this fabulous, rich pud only if you have at least 30 minutes to dedicate to it. The caramel sauce requires a watchful eye, because your sugar-water-cream mix takes about ten minutes to become a caramel, but once it does, it will quickly harden into a hard sugar coating on the bottom of your pan if you've not removed it from the heat. But the result is worth the time!! The only modification I make to this recipe is that I cook it for almost an hour, instead of 45 minutes, and I ALWAYS let it sit for at least 10 minutes before serving because it is quite souffle-like and will cave in if it does not sit for a while. Fortunately, it is equally delicious both warm and at room temperature, so don't hesitate to make it early. The rich, buttery sauce is complimented by dark coffee and by a nice whisky.
 
21 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: WHEATABLE
This pudding tasted good, but it is time consuming to make it. I also think that it called for a little too much bread because my pudding turned out pretty dry. I will make it again because my husband loved it, but next time I will add less bread and watch it more closely while it is in the oven.
 
18 Mar 2004
Reviewed by: ABoston
Make this fabulous, rich dessert only if you have at least 30 minutes to dedicate to it. The caramel sauce requires a watchful eye, because your sugar-water-cream mix takes about ten minutes to become a caramel, but once it does, it will quickly harden into a hard sugar coating on the bottom of your pan if you've not removed it from the heat. But the result is worth the time!! Another reviewer said that she found the dessert dry. To avoid this, simply let the bread cubes sit in the pudding mix for more than 30 minutes, thereby soaking up more of the chocolate pudding. Use the time to fix supper, take a shower, or reverse the directions on the recipe: make the pudding first, and then make the caramel sauce while the Challah bread cubes soak in the pudding. The only modification I make to this recipe is that I cook it for almost an hour, instead of 45 minutes, and I ALWAYS let it sit for at least 10 minutes before serving because the dessert is quite souffle-like and will cave in if it does not sit for a while. Fortunately, it is equally delicious both warm and at room temperature, so don't hesitate to make it early. The rich, buttery sauce is complimented by dark coffee and by a nice whisky.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
31 Dec 2001
Reviewed by: REBECCA_MILLER_JD
This pudding tasted good, but it is time consuming to make it. I also think that it called for a little too much bread because my pudding turned out pretty dry. I will make it again because my husband loved it, but next time I will add less bread and watch it more closely while it is in the oven.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Nov 2002
Reviewed by: BECKYBAX
My husband requested bread pudding so I tried this recipe and he loved it. I used Southern Comfort instead of bourbon. He wants me to make this for Thanksgiving instead of pumpkin pie!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Jan 2004
Reviewed by: Karen Eyers
When we had eaten our fill, I poured the remaining sauce over the leftovers and put it in the fridge. The leftovers were even better than the original.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Nov 2007
Reviewed by: ThreebyFiver
This is the best Chocolate Bread Pudding. The recipie seemed daunting when read but was really simple once I got started. The sauce turned out perfect with good ole Jack Daniels and some Amaretto. It was really pretty with the pecans. The bread pudding was so moist and just the perfect amount of chocolate. I can see why chocolate lovers would add chocolate morsels to the top, but to stay true to a bread pudding taste, I don't think there is anything that needs to be changed with this recipie. Thanks SO much. A great fall dessert!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes