My Reviews (271)

Eggless Chocolate Cake

This beautiful cake is very moist and very chocolately and is great decorated with fruit as well as with chocolate icing!
Reviews (271)


Comment:
18 Jul 2008
berly said:
Something else. I made this recipe for my son's class. And it was wonderful. He has severe food allergies and this recipe is both egg and peanut free. I added chocolate chips to the batter. I made cupcakes instead of the cake and I baked them for 22 minutes @ 180 degrees.
 
Comment:
16 Sep 2010
willoww said:
Altered ingredient amounts. I read all of the reviews before I baked this. I used another 1/4 cup of cocoa and replaced the salt with vinegar (trust me!). Suitably chocolatey and no after taste. Next time I'll try a slower oven and longer bake time to try and avoid the crust.
 
Comment:
09 Mar 2011
ami said:
Made it more kid friendly. I recently made this for our mothers group joint 1st birthday, I took out the cocoa and used 2 teaspoons of vanilla bean paste. with butter icing it was a hit. All mums are asking for the recipe thanks ginger XXXX
 
09 Dec 2011
Reviewed by: ndev85
very easy recipe! I use gluten free SR flour and only 1 Tsp of vanilla essence. I also used the Nestle cocoa powder and added a little extra to make it more chocolately. I baked it at 120 degrees covered with foil for 90 mins then uncovered for another 20 mins. Although that will vary depending on your oven. I let it cook for at least an hour like that and then checked on it at 10 minute intervals with a skewer till it was cooked through. So tasty! Thanks :-)
 
10 Jul 2011
Reviewed by: Kparkes
Excellent. so easy to make and I like it more than most cakes with Egg. I topped it with Dark Choc Ganache. Yum!
 
Comment:
28 Jul 2010
herbal said:
great reviews from my friends who tasted - - even the ones who usually have eggs and dairy! So the weights worked...
 
Comment:
18 Jul 2008
kajira said:
Used different ingredients. I cut the recipe in half. I also added 4 TBS choc chips, and a teaspoon of baking powder...came out very good..
 
18 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: Amy J
This cake came out moist and chocolately. I didn't change the recipe at all. Made for husband who is allergic to eggs and enjoyed it myself more than most cakes!!
 
Comment:
07 Dec 2011
HeatherC said:
Am considering baking these cakes for my son's class as one of his classmates has an egg allergy. Did everyone use a dark cocoa or will the usual Nestle Baking cocoa suffice?
 
15 Jan 2011
Reviewed by: tamara23
followed willoww's tweaks and this was fantastic - very happy with the result especially when most didn't realise it was egg free! Thanks - I now have a nice egg free recipe to accommodate my son's friend with an egg allergy and it made for a great cake to decorate.
 

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes