My Reviews (350)

Rhubarb Cinnamon Cake

A lovely cake for when rhubarb is in season. It is topped with cinnamon brown sugar sprinkles. Serve with vanilla ice cream.
Reviews (350)


Comment:
18 Jul 2008
naples34102 said:
Used different ingredients. Very dense and moist cake. We loved it and will definitely make it again. I put the rhubarb through my food processer to chop it pretty fine and then drained some, but not all of the juice. I used 2 cups of the finely chopped rhubard and it was perfect. I didn't have any buttermilk so I used the rhubarb juice to add to the milk instead of lemon juice - probably between 1/4 and 1/2 cup of juice. I also didn't add the topping suggested as I didn't want a coffee cake. I used homemade cream cheese frosting and it was wonderful!
 
Comment:
18 Jul 2008
Sharon G. said:
Altered ingredient amounts. This cake is excellent! Other than adding extra chopped rhubarb (around 125g), I followed the directions exactly and the cake turned out beautifully ... I'm going to make another one this weekend to share with family. You won't be disappointed with this one!
 
18 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: Brenda
This is a great recipe. Some other reviewers had problems with the centre falling - these tips may help. Cakes will sink or fall because of the following 1.Over-beating - too much air is incorporated 2.Under-baking - oven temp is too low or too short a baking time 3.Over or under measurement of ingredients 4.Using too small/large of baking tin 5. Make sure your oven temp is correct - preheat for at least 30 min. and ensure your oven is heating properly by using an oven thermometer for accuracy and finally, only open your oven door if you have to and then make sure 3/4 of the cooking time is up. Happy baking everyone!
 
18 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: 92DORE
Excellent - I definitely will be making this again, I'm also going to use the basic recipe too for other different fruits such as blueberries, cherries, peaches - it can be endless.
 
17 Apr 2010
Reviewed by: Brobbelgirl
Absolutely delicious! I won't add the topping next time though as the cake is sweet enough without it [in my sweet-toothed opinion - I scraped most of it off with each serving]. None of my family were willing to try it because it had rhubarb in it [none of us had ever tasted it until this recipe] so I got to consume all of it. I used the recipe as stated in the instructions but with a bit less rhubarb and I put it in my food processor to make it into tiny bits. After a coulpe of days I kept it in the refrigerator to keep it as fresh as possible, but it is a beautiful moise cake and I had ice-cream with it every time, warm or straight from the 'fridge. This is a lovely dessert or even a cake and I'll be making it many times - perhaps I'll try it with a different fruit as well.
 
Comment:
18 Jul 2008
RICK13DEE9 said:
Altered ingredient amounts. I made some subs: i used only brown sugar, no caster. i used i tin of crushed pineapple and 120ml oil. added 2.5 tsp cinnamon and 1/4 tsp nutmeg, 3 tsp vanilla. omitted nuts and icing. I baked in two round cake tins for 40 minutes. The result was perfectly moist cake with terrific flavour, and less guilt! Suggestion: if you're using a box grater, grate the carrots on the 2nd largest holes (same ones you use to grate cheese). I made the mistake of grating on the next smaller size holes last time. The carrot shreds were too small and too many, and a lot of carrot juice was produced. All that extra liquid caused my "cake" to be more like a thin rubbery glob, even after cooking for over an hour. So make sure your carrot shreds are quite large, so you don't end up with all that unwanted carrot juice.
 
08 Nov 2016
Reviewed by: grantd
Great cake but way too much sugar. I cut down the castor sugar in the cake mixture to one cup but think the next time I'll cut it down to 3/4 cup. Again, too much brown sugar in the topping. I don't think the topping is really necessary. I ended up scraping it all off and it tasted so much better
 
17 Oct 2010
Reviewed by: missyisobel
Yummo, if you like rhurbarb, this is pretty darn nice with some cream or icecream......
 
Comment:
07 Jun 2010
ladyjoanella said:
I used a pair of scissors to cut up the rhubarb which made it easy. I have a good sharp pair of scissors in my kitchen drawer that my family wouldn't dare remove from the kitchen These scissors are used for cutting bacon, herbs etc too and are one of my most used utensils. I just make sure they are well washed after each use - but not in the dishwasher.
 
24 Sep 2002
Reviewed by: RICK13DEE9
Excellent- I took another reviewer's suggestion to use 3 cups of rhubarb - next time I'm using at least 4 cups. I definitely will be making this again, I'm also going to use the basic recipe too for other different fruits such as blueberries, cherries, peaches - it can be endless.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes