My Reviews (47)

Easy Toasted Breadcrumbs

It's so easy to make your own breadcrumbs as well as being a perfect way to use up stale bread. Use immediately or freeze till needed. You need never buy breadcrumbs again:-)
Reviews (47)


26 Jan 2010
Reviewed by: Sams girl
I keep thinking to myself, What a Blessing to be able to use what God has givin us and make something new! I already make my own bread and now I can take 1 more thing off the grocery list, Breadcrumbs!!THIS RECIPE IS GREAT & VERY EASY!! I baked mine until they felt crisp and then let them cool, about 5 min, then put them in the Blender and WA-LA we had Fresh Breadcrumbs!! I didn't have to worry about what exactly was in them or what that company did to "make them better" because I was even the one who made the bread. Praise God from Whom ALL Blessings Flow. God Bless the rest of your day!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Jan 2009
Reviewed by: fondukes
I put the toast in a big plastic freezer bag and rolled the rolling pin over it to crush the bread into crumbs. Easy and quick, love it!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Mar 2008
Reviewed by: iheartbaking
Turned out perfect! A little more labor intensive than I thought however. I baked mine for half and hour and they were a little soft in the middle. Next time I'll bake for 35-40 minutes to ensure that they are baked through.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Aug 2008
Reviewed by: LOBSTER
Works great everytime! Used the end slices (which nobody wants)and leftover rolls - whole wheat, sourdough, pumpernickle, and onion etc..! Baked for 20 minutes each side, cooled, put through food processor. Pour into zip bag and store in the freezer to keep fresh. Thanks for a great recipe!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Feb 2008
Reviewed by: Sookie
These turned out great! The best breadcrumbs I've ever made. After they were browned and cooled, I broke them into pieces and ran them through the food processor 3 slices at a time along with 1/4 tsp Italian seasoning. It was fragrant and fresh and WONDERFUL!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Jan 2009
Reviewed by: CafeAmericano
I found a full loaf of bread that we had ignored and I didn't want to waste it. Once again, Allrecipes does not disappoint. Found this recipe and it is great. The only difference in technique is that I placed the bread on a cookie sheet rather than directly on the rack. The timing was perfect. Made a great meatloaft with oat nut breadcrumbs the next day.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Aug 2011
Reviewed by: ChristineM
Great way to use up that slightly stale bread, end pieces or other "undesirables"! Sometimes I do whoel wheat, sometimes a mix of whatever we have on hand. If I'm not usingthem right away, I store them in a big ziploc bag in the freezer. I prefer to leave them plain and season as I use them, but my favorite seasoning includes oregano, basil, thyme, garlic powder, onion powder, paprika and grated parmesan cheese.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Aug 2008
Reviewed by: jerry dodd
try this soak the bread sourdough in a lil fresh garlic and onion the dry it out and make crumbs..... killer
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Jan 2012
Reviewed by: ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
This is a great way to use up older bread. I put the toast in a baggie and used a rolling pin to crush into crumbs. I don't know why I never thought of this before. I guess for Italian crumbs you could just add some Italian seasoning or other herbs. Thanks I will be giving this a lot of use.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Jan 2012
Reviewed by: JennaMarie
This came out amazing! Quick question though, if anyone knows: If I made a large batch of this and kept it in a container how long would it last? I didn't know if anyone made it in bulk and kept it. THANKS!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes