My Reviews (2,232)

Spicy Garlic and Lime chicken

Chicken breasts are well seasoned with cayenne and paprika, then pan-fried until golden brown and served with a garlic-lime sauce. This dish is ready in less than 30 minutes so it's perfect for a weeknight meal.
Reviews (2232)


26 Jun 2008
Reviewed by: zadimom
This is almost identical to a recipe that I love. The only difference is that in my recipe you add 1/3 of a cup of chicken broth with the lemon juice to the pan drippings. This helps to add the needed liquid for the sauce. This is a fast, delicious recipe that the whole family likes.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Jun 2003
Reviewed by: JSECRET
My wife loved this take on a delicious dish. Mince onion, garlic and jalepeno, add the dry ingredients called for in this dish to form a wet paste. Rub generous amounts under the skin. Outer skin is salted, rubbed with some mixture. Broil in oven until skin gets nice and crispy (5-7 min) switch oven to bake 350 until done (approx 40 min). About half way through squeeze lime juice on chicken.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 May 2005
Reviewed by: QUIRKYIQ
I will make this easy recipe again but with some changes. I loved the spice mixture but it wasn't enough to adequately cover/rub four breasts so I had make another batch. Also, way, way, WAY too much garlic powder at the end. It overpowered the other flavors, especially the lime. I will reduce the amount of garlic powder and double the other ingredients in the future.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Jun 2011
Reviewed by: Crystal S
This recipe is five stars as written, but to spice it up, I doubled the spice mixture, increased the cayenne pepper to 1/2 tsp. Right before finishing the "sauce" I added 1/2 cup of chicken broth per another reviewers suggetion, a "turn" of margarita mix, a splash of tequila, 1.5 tbs of honey and let bubble for two plus minutes. Perfect mix of sweet and spice!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Dec 2002
Reviewed by: MADFORGOLD
Love the spicy little kick this chicken has to offer. I did have to double the butter and lime juice in order to have enough sauce to spoon over the top. I also pounded the brests thinner to avoid that "too chickeny" taste. This is a keeper!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
31 Dec 2002
Reviewed by: Lois Lane
This was good but needed some help. First of all, do cut chicken breasts into pieces & pound thin. Second, don't double the lime juice unless you want it sour. Use 3 TBLSP first (juice of one small lime) and then taste-test the sauce, then adjust as needed. The sauce also could benefit from a little chicken broth added when you put in the lime juice.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Jun 2003
Reviewed by: SAIDANDDUNN
This recipe just replaced my old Lime Chicken recipe. It was wonderful! So simple and easy, too. I fixed the marinade in the morning, bumped up the heat-factor a little, used fresh cilantro from my garden (made all the difference) and threw it in a bag along with the juice of a couple limes. I marinated it all afternoon and then threw it on the grill. While grilling, I coated it with coarse ground pepper and squeezed fresh lime juice on each side. Definitly a keeper! My husband was disappointed he was travelling the next day and couldn't take the leftovers for lunch. Instead, I sliced up the cold chicken and served it on a salad. MMMMMMmmmmmm-good! Thanks for the recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 May 2002
Reviewed by: DIGGITY38
A splash of tequila made for a nice finish to this delicious recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Jan 2009
Reviewed by: Baricat
I'm scratching my head over the glowing reviews. To my palate garlic powder tastes nothing at all like garlic! To me, the flavor is plain nasty. I can't understand why anyone would use a fake-tasting product when the real thing is both inexpensive and readily available. If you want to make this dish worlds better, mash 3-4 garlic cloves to a paste. Apply to the chicken with the spices. For the sauce, mash another clove or two of garlic (or to taste) and replace that awful powder. Infinitely superior, fresh, and tasty. Try it this way - you won't believe the difference!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Feb 2013
Reviewed by: Pineygirl12
OMG! What can I add to everything that has been said before? I couldn't wait to get on here to review this recipe! Fabulous combination of flavors and just enough spice to get you going. It tasted like a restaurant meal. I didn't change the ingredients at all -- simply doubled the spice rub because I wanted a more intense flavor. I made only the slightest change to the directions - using a foolproof technique I learned with pork chops. I put the spice rub on the chicken about three hours before cooking. Then 30 minutes before cooking I took the chicken out of the fridge and let it "rest." After browning, I removed the chicken, deglazed the pan with the lime juice, returned the breasts for a few minutes, then covered the pan, turned off the heat and let everything "rest" again for about 10 minutes. The two "resting periods" make pork chops (and chicken breasts) come out both well cooked and very moist and delicious. This is a keeper, and I can't wait to make it again!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes