My Reviews (58)

Simple Chocolate Spoons

These chocolate-covered spoons are great fun! Serve them with a chocolate dessert or ice cream. You can also stir them into hot chocolate or coffee drinks. The amount in this recipe coats 20 to 24 plastic spoons.
Reviews (58)


03 Jan 2003
Reviewed by: Deneen
I made these for Christmas gifts a few days in advance. On Christmas Eve I noticed that they no longer were smooth, but rough and spotty looking. I made up a quick new batch with a tad of shortening and they still look beautiful.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Dec 2001
Reviewed by: MICHELLE JP
These are really great! The're fast, easy, inexpensive, and look impressive, too! They sell for $1.79 each at our specialty store. I made them for less than 20 cents. I did drizzle mine with white chocolate. I also used small candy bags to put them in and attached them to the handle of a coffee mug that had the cappuccino mix from the site in it. Add a bow and it makes a nice gift!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Dec 2003
Reviewed by: milk_an_honey
Works perfectly. I wrapped mine in a square of cello wrap and tied with a bit of ribbon. Note that if you put them in the fridge right away you may get a sugar bloom (as I did). You may want to let the chocolate cool to room temperature before putting in the fridge - this should avoid the problem.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Dec 2001
Reviewed by: M0MX8
my girlfriend makes these every year...we also add liquor to the chocolate for the adults to use in their coffee, or hot chocolate...a big hit all winter long!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Sep 2002
Reviewed by: Judy Hidy
Wonderfully delicious little spoon! To my Christmas gift cups, I attached the spoon to the handle, and inside the cup put a small bag of hot choc. mix enclosed in a plastic bag inside a little fabric print bag with small bow on it, and a small plastic bag holding two heart shaped home-made marshmallows. The marshmallow recipe is found in Martha Stewart's recipes on the Oprah site. Judy
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Sep 2003
Reviewed by: JENNYLEIGHT
I added a little shortening as suggested by another viewer. I also added crushed peppermint candies to a few and marshmallows and chopped nuts to others with drizzles of dark chocolate. They turned out great. I made them for a craft fair to sell along side our hot chocolate. They were a big hit!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Nov 2005
Reviewed by: T L Dixon
I cheated!, I used Hershey kisses & melted them. Dip the spoons & let set-up in fridge, Then drizzled with melted white chocolate chips.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Dec 2005
Reviewed by: MEHUNGRY98
Yummy I make these using spoon molds (I'm not sure where you get them; my mother-in-law gave them to me) and a special kind of chocolate that is used for the molds (higher amount of parafin so that the chocolate hardens and keeps its shape). One note - when making this recipe, make sure you use a high quality (i.e. name brand) of chocolate chips; the store brand doesn't seem to harden back up enough and you end up with a bit of a gooey mess
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Dec 2008
Reviewed by: SHORECOOK
I am writing this review with the most delicious cup of chocolate caramel coffee at my side. I crushed Werther's Originals and sprinkled them on the chocolate covered spoons I had made. OUTSTANDING! I thought it would be easy to cover the spoons but found that first I had to covered the back with chocolate, let that harden; then, fill the spoon with chocolate and let that harden. For some reason I thought I would be able to "dip and go". Once I filled the front with chocolate, I sprinkled on the Werther's Originals. (I crushed them till they were almost powder like so they melt nice in the coffee). To let them "dry", I happened to have a box sitting on the table so I slid the handle of the spoon under the flap of the box. This way the chocolate didn't get smashed. They looked very nice.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Oct 2001
Reviewed by: SUZNWALLY
Loved this recipe! I added raspberry flavoring and drizzled white chocolate on top. My two daughters & I made 90+ for favors at my 40th birthday celebration. (They didn't all make it to the party!)What a neat treat
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes