My Reviews (49)

Mustard-crusted Leg of Lamb

This recipe delivers a tasty and juicy leg of lamb thanks to a generous crust of mustard. It's a perfect main dish for a holiday feast.
Reviews (49)


21 Nov 2005
Reviewed by: Carrie
Fantastic!!! This recipe came out great. I used a honey dijon mustard and added the Worcestershire sauce to the mustard before spreading it on the leg. I also added parsley, rosemary, and garlic powder under the mustard. Even my family members who said they do not like lamb, loved this recipe. Plus it was SO easy. Thanks!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Oct 2006
Reviewed by: Cambry
This was very good, but I did make some changes. For mustard I used a sweet hot mustard. It worked very well. It gave some of the heat of mustard with out overwhelming the taste of the lamb. I skipped the flour. Instead of just laying garlic slices on it, I cut pockets into the lamb and put the garlic slices in there. I also added a bit of Rosemary, Basil and Thyme. Not a lot, just enough to add a hint of herb flavor. I also added the herbs and mustard and everything about an hour before cooking so it would have some time to soak into the meat. My husband loved it, as did I.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Feb 2003
Reviewed by: MAMADRAG
this was my first time making lamb and this was an easy recipe that was very good. I used a 6 lbs leg and used only as much mustard as was needed to cover the leg completely. I also used garlic powder when I used the salt and pepper. Yummy.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
31 Jan 2006
Reviewed by: ReneeFS
I loved this recipe, but I also altered it a bit. I added all ingredients minus the flour and plus 1 T. lemon juice and 1 T. white wine and mixed a paste to spread on lamb. I lined the pan with sliced carrots and potatoes. I started the lamb at 425* for first 25 minutes.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Aug 2002
Reviewed by: LILTIANSHI
I found some sweet classic dijon and loved it so much I added a lot more than was called for here. It was a hit. Very easy to make, delicious and satisfying.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Apr 2000
Reviewed by: EVALVLO
GREAT GREAT GREAT...MY FATHER EVEN LIKED IT
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Dec 2006
Reviewed by: HAV2SING
A Friend of mine did this and it was Fabulous!! She used Dijon & Wooster, then smeared it with crushed garlic -- she forgot about the flour, it was so yummy!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Dec 2009
Reviewed by: manisha
I used a boneless butterflied leg of lamb for this instead of a whole leg and it turned out great and cooked much faster, about 15 minutes/lb. CHANGES: We love garlic so in addition to the fresh cloves, I mixed in garlic powder with the flour to add extra flavor. Used dijon mustard instead of prepared. Added several "dashes" of Worcestershire sauce. GRAVY TIP: I added about 1/2 c of water to the roasting pan about 15 minutes before the roast was done. It will slowly cook with the flour and juices already in the pan, so that when the roast is done you can just sieve the remaining liquid and get a really great "jus" to serve over the lamb. Served with roasted lemon potatoes and tomato salad. Will make again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Jan 2003
Reviewed by: RCOOKOTO
Overall good recipie. Classic by Pierre Franey is better, but for a change, this is OK.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Mar 2004
Reviewed by: THEBACCHUS
I thought this was fabulous! I used dijon and mixed about 1/2 t of the Worcestershire into it. Didn't flour, as I'm low-carb and it still made a lovely sauce after the addition of cream at the end.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes