My Reviews (19)

Sweet Coconut Rice

Instead of just water, use some coconut milk for a more-flavourful rice. Goes great with curry.
Reviews (19)


05 Apr 2014
Reviewed by: Volleyballmom
This was reminiscent of rice pudding for me because of the creaminess. I used palm sugar because I don't cook with white sugar(personal preference). 1 tsp was enough. Shredded coconut added a welcomed texture. I'll make this again. Thanks Melucy.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Mar 2014
Reviewed by: Christina
We LOVED this! I only used the teaspoon of sugar called for b/c I didn't want it too sweet, and that was perfect, so if you want it SWEET def add more sugar. I liked the addition of the coconut sprinkled on top, which also gave some sweetness to the rice, so keep that in mind as well if you plan on using it. I added some salt, but that was per my own preference. Oh, and I used Jasmine rice, which was wonderful in this. I would def be making this again~YUM! Thanks for sharing.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Mar 2015
Reviewed by: xmyheart
Amazing! My boyfriend made this last night with caramelized baked chicken (another wonderful recipe on here). It went perfect with it! I loved the sweetness of this rice. It is the right amount of sweet. Delicious!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Dec 2014
Reviewed by: ClammerNana
EXCELLENT recipe - only thing I added was salt. I like sweet rice, so I used two tsp of sugar. Added the coconut just before serving and it was terrific. We served it as a side dish with BBQ brisket, steamed broccoli and a green salad. Will make it with chicken curry next time. Two thumbs up!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 Oct 2014
Reviewed by: ricebag
Fabulous! Just like in the restaurants. I used a rice cooker instead of stovetop and it turned out perfect.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Sep 2015
Reviewed by: Delaine
I had coconut rice for the first time last week in a Thai restaurant. This is a perfect match. Delicious! Thanks so much for the recipe. I used brown jasmine rice in mine.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 May 2015
Reviewed by: Lindsay
Okay, but not a strong coconut taste. Made this in my rice cooker. I used the stated amount of sugar. I found that if I added some sugar on my rice at the table it bought out the coconut taste more. Not a bad recipe by any means, but I would want to play with it some more to suite our tastes. My teen didn't like it at all. A lot leftover.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Feb 2015
Reviewed by: lu@cy
Great and easy to make and tastes great too
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Nov 2014
Reviewed by: Frances
Delicious! I added a pinch of salt but otherwise didn't change a thing. The coconut flakes added some nice texture. I served it with fajitas that were pretty spicy and this rice added a nice cooling effect. Family loved it. Would definitely make it again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Apr 2019
Reviewed by: Kate
I make this recipe almost weekly and our family loves it. I've found that in my rice cookers (one a simple 3 cup cooker which only has on/off settings and one a 5.5 c Tiger brand cooker with multiple settings) I get a better result with 2 c uncooked rice, keeping all the other ingredients the same. It's a little less mushy and the grains have a better texture.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes